Tyron McComb stormed to a flawless seven-under-par 63 to overtake first round leader Russel Franz and commandeer the lead in the IGT Tour’s sixth Race to Asian Q-School event at CMR Golf Club on Tuesday.

The 23-year-old Dainfern golfer turned in three under and moved clear of the pack with birdies at the 11th, 13th and 15th. He rushed to a three stroke lead on 15-under-par 129 with an eagle at the par-four 16th and another gain at the 18th.

Franz may have relinquished the overnight lead, but maintained his charge towards a third IGT Tour title and automatic qualification for the Asian Tour’s Qualifying School sponsorship with a five-under-par 67.

He sits at 12 under and is three strokes clear of Sunshine Tour campaigner Divan van der Heever, who made his presence felt with a 65.

Amateurs Neil Meyer (67) and Italy’s Philip Geerts (69) tied for fourth on seven under 137.

Mc Comb struggled with his game over the last few months and came into the event carrying low expectations and a severe bout of flu, but finished one off the pace with an opening 66.

It is not every day you shoot a 63, but Mc Comb believes a recent sponsorship and a tip from the IGT Tour’s Greg Baltramo has brought about his incredible turnaround in form.

“I signed with SHS Africa GrRANA Energy six weeks ago and that definitely lifted my spirits,” Mc Comb explained. “Greg gave me a little tip on my hinge before the first round, and it has made a big difference to my swing.

“I guess the positive pressure was all I needed to start firing again. The last few months have been very frustrating. It is a really awesome feeling to be in contention again.”

The Joburg golfer believes he has the ammunition to win again.

“I had to come from behind to win my first IGT Tour title a few years ago and the one time I led going into the final round, I was beaten by Tyrone Ryan at Blue Valley,” Mc Comb said.

“That was a good couple of years ago, though. I am much more experienced, so I’m pretty positive that I will be able to handle the pressure this time.”

He does expect to have a fight on his hands, especially from the determined Franz.

“Russel will be as determined as I am to add his name to the Race to Asian Q-School champions list,” Mc Comb said.

“I expect him to chase me from the first hole. Divan is a dark horse; that 65 today showed what he is capable off, so I will watch my rear-view mirror.”

Franz won twice in the Race to the USA and, although he is hitting the ball extremely well, he has been struggling with the short stick.

“For a while there I was calling myself ‘Mr Three-Putt,” the GFG Academy golfer said.

“The rest of my game is in top form, but the putter has been enemy number one for the last couple of weeks. I’ve put in hours with my coach over the last week and it feels like we are close after the last two rounds.”


129 - Tyron Mc Comb 66 63

132 - Russel Franz 65 67

135 - Divan Van Den Heever 70 65

137 - Niel Meyer (AMA) 70 67, Philip Geerts ITA (AMA) 68 69

138 - Coert Groenewald 73 65, Rosswell Sinclair (AMA) 71 67

139 - Calvin Caldeira (AMA) 70 69, Werner Van Niekerk 69 70, Jaco Prinsloo 69 70

140 - Tristen Strydom (AMA) 71 69, Juan Langeveld 71 69

141 - Cliff Howes 74 67, Hano van der Walt 72 69, Ruan Huysamen NAM 72 69, Pieter Kruger 71 70, Alwyn Vorster 68 73, Wayne du Toit 67 74, Brendan De Lange 67 74

142 - Dayne Moore ZAM 72 70, Brett Liddle 71 71

143 - Bryandrew Roelofsz 75 68, Michael Dreyer 72 71, Jacquin Hess 78 65, Jerry Steyn 71 72

144 - Dwayne Coetzee 74 70

146 - Matthew Kiewitz (AMA) 74 72, Rynardt Combrink 76 70, Glen de Waal NAM 77 69, Merrick Van As (AMA) 71 75

147 - MJ Viljoen 75 72, Louwtjie J van Vuuren (AMA) 72 75, Stephan De Beer (AMA) 78 69

148 - Shaun van Tonder 74 74, Gareth Akers (AMA) 68 80

149 - Wayne Stroebel 75 74, Simon Kruger (AMA) 73 76, Hanbo Lee 72 77, Stephan Erasmus (AMA) 76 73

150 - John McClean NIR 77 73, David Lamprecht 72 78

153 - Pieter Van der Linde (AMA) 78 75, Julian de Wet (AMA) 78 75

Missed the cut:-

154 - James Garlinge (AMA) 74 80, Tristan Malan (AMA) 75 79, Houston Harwood (AMA) 81 73

155 - Keegan Steyn (AMA) 77 78, Lucas Steyn 78 77

156 - Robert Herselman FRA 76 80, Christiaan Pretorius 76 80, David Rebelo (AMA) 82 74

158 - Loic Csizmadia MUS (AMA) 78 80, JP Schmidt (AMA) 84 74

159 - Craig Dreyer 82 77

160 - Ashley Mulligan (AMA) 78 82, Wendall Pietersen (AMA) 83 77

161 - Daren Malan (AMA) 80 81, Shane Scheepers 80 81, Jacob Lekoto 86 75

178 - Juan Momberg (AMA) 92 86

WDN - Andi Dill (AMA) 75 WDN, Jaco Mouton 77 WDN, Basia Ganda 95 WDN


Graham J Gordon, The Editor and Owner, GolfblogspotUK

The GolfblogspotUK website is owned and run by former Walker Cup player and European Tour card holder, Graham J Gordon, from Scotland, the Home of Golf. The owner is a golf fanatic who had to retire early from competitive tour play due to a back injury that required surgery. Graham wishes to share his knowledge and own experiences of the game with the GolfblogspotUK community and to receive your feedback on all aspects of the sport. Graham has been playing the game for over 20 years and received a great deal of pleasure from the sport. He has met several friends and visited many different places around the world, thanks to playing the great game of golf. Time to put a little back into the game to help others.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>