The 64 players who scored +8, 156, or better advance to tomorrow’s 2014 Ladies British Open Amateur Match Play stages at Royal St George’s Golf Club.

With a brisk north-easterly wind all day, the historic links at proved challenging to this top field of lady amateur golfers, with only a small number of players breaking par.

The clubhouse leader from early in the day was Letitia Baek of Israel, whose -4 score of 70 gave her a 2-round total of 141(-7) and propelled her into the leading qualifier’s spot for the match play, which starts tomorrow.

Her nearest challengers were Leslie Cloots of Belgium and Spain’s Luna Sobron, both of whom finished on 5 under scores of 143, while the top-ranked amateur in the field, Su-Hyun Oh of Australia, finished tied 9th on 148. The leading British player was two-time Curtis Cup player Bronte Law (145).

With the cut falling at +8, there will be a number of familiar faces in tomorrow’s draw.

Perhaps the biggest surprise of the day was the failure of defending champion, Georgia Hall, to make the cut, and she will not be involved in the match play stages. Another Curtis Cup player, Eilidh Briggs, and recently crowned Scottish Champion Gabrielle Macdonald are also out.

However the other Curtis Cup team members recently returned from St Louis, Missouri – Gabriella Cowley, Annabel Dimmock and Gemma Dryburgh are safely through, and are joined by a number of other players who have won GB&I caps – including Becky Harries, Hayley Davis and Alex Peters, all of whom played in the 2011 Vagliano Trophy match against the Continent of Europe.

The draw itself has thrown up some attractive matches, with the first tee time being 7.30 am, while the afternoon matches start at 12 noon

Leading Qualifiers (Par 74):-

141 Laetitia Beck (Israel) 71 70
143 Leslie Cloots (Belgium) 72 71, Luna Sobron (Spain) 70 73
145 Bronte Law (Bramhall) 72 73, Noemi Jimenez (Spain) 70 75,
147 Inci Mehmet (Wentworth) 73 74, ntonia Scherer (Germany) 70 77
148 Su-Hyun Oh (Australia) 74 74, Dewi Weber (Netherlands) 69 79
148 Ann-Catherine Tanguay (Canada) 73 75
150 Hayley Davis (Ferndown) 75 75, Sophie Lamb (Clitheroe) 70 80
151 Alexandra Bonetti (France) 77 74
152 Chloe Williams (Wrexham) 75 77, Anne Van Dam (Netherlands) 75 77, Jane Jackson (USA) 74 78, Rosie Davies (Indiana Univ) 74 78
153 Alice Hewson (Berkhamsted) 77 76, Annabel Dimmock (Wentworth) 76 77, Chloe Ryan (Castletroy, Ireland) 73 80, Gabriella Cowley (Hanbury Manor) 76 77
154 Meghan MacLaren (Wellingborough) 72 82, Olivia Mehaffey (Royal Co Down) 76 78

Selected Scottish Golf Scores:-

153 Gemma Dryburgh (Beaconsfield) 74 79
155 Lauren Whyte (St Regulus) 78 77, Ailsa Summers (Carnoustie Ladies) 78 77, Alyson McKechin (Elderslie) 76 79
156 Connie Jaffrey (Troon Ladies) 76 80

FTQ’d (156 and lower qualified):-

157 Fiona Liddell (Germany) 79 78
158 Eilidh Briggs (Kilmacolm) 74 84
160 Gabrielle MacDonald (Craigielaw) 76 84
161 Clara Young (North Berwick) 79 82
162 Rachael Taylor (Germany) 77 85
WD: Jess Meek (Carnoustie Ladies) 81 WD

Source: LGU


Graham J Gordon, The Editor and Owner, GolfblogspotUK

The GolfblogspotUK website is owned and run by former Walker Cup player and European Tour card holder, Graham J Gordon, from Scotland, the Home of Golf. The owner is a golf fanatic who had to retire early from competitive tour play due to a back injury that required surgery. Graham wishes to share his knowledge and own experiences of the game with the GolfblogspotUK community and to receive your feedback on all aspects of the sport. Graham has been playing the game for over 20 years and received a great deal of pleasure from the sport. He has met several friends and visited many different places around the world, thanks to playing the great game of golf. Time to put a little back into the game to help others.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>