Six of the last eight winners of the Travelers Championship have been first-time TOUR champions:

J.J. Henry (2006), Hunter Mahan (2007), Bubba Watson (2010), Fredrik Jacobson (2011), Marc Leishman (2012) and Ken Duke (2013).

A total of 17 players have picked up their first TOUR win at the Travelers Championship: Ken Duke (2013), Marc Leishman (2012), Fredrik Jacobson (2011), Bubba Watson (2010), Hunter Mahan (2007), J.J. Henry (2006), Brent Geiberger (1999), Olin Browne (1998), Stewart Cink (1997), Billy Ray Brown (1991), Mark Brooks (1988), Mac O’Grady (1986), Phil Blackmar (1985), Tim Norris (1982), Don Bies (1975), Charles Sifford (1967) and Bob Toski (1953).

Five of the past 10 outcomes at TPC River Highlands have been decided through a playoff (2013-Ken Duke, 2010-Bubba Watson, 2007-Hunter Mahan, 2005-Brad Faxon, 2004-Woody Austin).

Past champions include Sam Snead, Arnold Palmer, Lee Trevino, Phil Mickelson and Greg Norman.

Patrick Cantlay’s 60 in the second round in 2011 as an amateur set the TPC River Highlands course record and equaled the Travelers Championship low 18-hole score (Tommy Bolt, 1954, Wethersfield CC).

Prior to Cantlay’s 60 in 2011, the course record at TPC River Highlands was 61, shared by Kirk Triplett (R3, 2000), Phil Mickelson (R3, 2001), Scott Verplank (R4, 2001), Brad Faxon (R4, 2005) and Kenny Perry (R1, 2009).

Only two players have won the tournament in wire-to-wire fashion – Gene Littler in 1959 and Tim Norris in 1982. A total of 10 players have won the tournament after holding at least a share of the lead after each round.

The best opening 36-hole score at the Travelers Championship was set by Justin Rose in 2010 (126, finished T9).

The best opening 54-hole score at the Travelers Championship is a 193 held by Tim Norris (1982/1st) and Mark Calcavecchia (2000/2nd).

The best 72-hole score at the Travelers Championship is 258 held by Kenny Perry (2009).

There have been 33 come-from-behind victories in the previous 62 years of the tournament, including Brad Faxon’s tournament-record, 7-stroke come-from-behind win in 2005, where he made the 36-hole cut on the number. Below are each of the comeback victories and the number of strokes:

Strokes Back after 54 Holes Number of Comebacks

1 stroke 9 times
2 strokes 4 times (Ken Duke was 2 shots back entering the final round)
3 strokes 7 times
4 strokes 2 times
5 strokes 6 times
6 strokes 3 times
7 strokes 1 time


Graham J Gordon, The Editor and Owner, GolfblogspotUK

The GolfblogspotUK website is owned and run by former Walker Cup player and European Tour card holder, Graham J Gordon, from Scotland, the Home of Golf. The owner is a golf fanatic who had to retire early from competitive tour play due to a back injury that required surgery. Graham wishes to share his knowledge and own experiences of the game with the GolfblogspotUK community and to receive your feedback on all aspects of the sport. Graham has been playing the game for over 20 years and received a great deal of pleasure from the sport. He has met several friends and visited many different places around the world, thanks to playing the great game of golf. Time to put a little back into the game to help others.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>