Rory McIlroy 5.5/1 at Betway

British Open and USPGA Golf Champion, Rory McIlroy of Ireland, has been installed as favourite by our online golf bookmakers partner, Betway, to win this week’s, The Barclays 2014 on the PGA Tour.

Rory McIlroy’s leads the FedExCup standings thanks to an amazing stretch of golf, including his four rounds in the 60s at Valhalla GC that carried him to a one-stroke victory at the 96th PGA Championship. His fourth major championship capped off a streak of three consecutive victories (The Open Championship, Bridgestone Invitational, PGA Championship), making him the first player to perform the feat since Tiger Woods won five consecutive starts at the conclusion of the 2007 season and beginning of the 2008 season.

McIlroy was No. 35 in the FedExCup standings after the U.S. Open, and has since rocketed up the list with his three consecutive wins: to No. 11 after The Open Championship; to No. 3 after the Bridgestone Invitational; and to No. 1 after the PGA Championship. His best previous position heading into the FedExCup Playoffs was No. 3 in 2012, the same year he went on to win two Playoffs event (Deutsche Bank Championship and BMW Championship), eventually finishing No. 2 in the FedExCup to Brandt Snedeker. McIlroy will be making his fourth start at The Barclays; his best finish thus far at the event was a T19 last year at Liberty National. McIlroy’s first start at The Barclays came in 2010 at The Ridgewood Country Club; he finished T56.

Adam Scott 15/1 at Betway

Defending champion, Adam Scott from Australia, is on offer at very generous golf odds of 15/1.

Scott’s six-stroke come-from-behind victory was the largest in tournament history and the ninth of his career. Scott joined Rory McIlroy and Tiger Woods as the only players to win a major championship and a FedExCup Playoffs event in the same season.

Scott’s come-from-behind win continued a recent trend at the tournament, as the leader entering the final round has not gone on to win The Barclays since Steve Stricker in 2007.

Phil Mickelson 23/1 at Betway

After a career-long drought of tournaments without a top-10 finish, Phil Mickelson finished second to Rory McIlory at the PGA Championship in his bid to win his sixth career major championship. The runner-up finish moved Mickelson from 84th to 42nd in the FedExCup standings, greatly boosting his chances of making it deep into the Playoffs. Mickelson is one of three players who have qualified for the season-ending TOUR Championship by Coca-Cola every year since the inception of the FedExCup in 2007, and he is the only player with top-15 finishes in the final FedExCup standings in all seven years. However, this will be Mickelson’s lowest ranking heading into the FedExCup Playoffs in his career. On average, he started the Playoffs ranked 5.857, with his previous lowest rank heading to The Barclays coming in 2012 when he was No. 14, the only time he was ranked outside of the top six.

Jim Furyk 29/1 at Betway

Our each-way golf tip for the week is Jim Furyk of the USA, who has been in very consistent form. The American golfer is on offer at 29/1 and is worth a small flutter.

Furyk is second in career top-10 finishes in FedExCup Playoffs events. With eight top-10 finishes that included three runner-ups, Jim Furyk rounds out the top five in the FedExCup standings.

The only player in the top five yet to win in 2014, Furyk knocked on the door all season long. The 2010 FedExCup champion finished second at the Wells Fargo Championship, THE PLAYERS and the RBC Canadian Open, along with top-10 finishes at both the U.S. Open and the PGA Championship. Furyk’s history at The Barclays dates back to 1991 with 18 previous starts and includes runner-up finishes in 1998 and 2005.

A full list of golf betting prices is detailed below. These golf betting odds are for information purposes only and subject to change.

We recommend you double check all golf betting odds before placing any golf bets.

The Barclays (Each way: 1/4, 1-5)

5.50 Rory McIlroy
15.00 Adam Scott
17.00 Henrik Stenson
21.00 Rickie Fowler
21.00 Sergio Garcia
21.00 Justin Rose
23.00 Phil Mickelson
29.00 Jim Furyk
34.00 Matt Kuchar
34.00 Jason Day
34.00 Brandt Snedeker
41.00 Hunter Mahan
41.00 Bill Haas
41.00 Bubba Watson
51.00 Graham Delaet
51.00 Webb Simpson
51.00 Keegan Bradley
51.00 Jordan Spieth
51.00 Jimmy Walker
51.00 Graeme McDowell
51.00 Charl Schwartzel
67.00 Marc Leishman
67.00 Ryan Moore
67.00 Martin Kaymer
67.00 Lee Westwood
67.00 Hideki Matsuyama
67.00 Nick Watney
81.00 Paul Casey
81.00 Patrick Reed
81.00 Luke Donald
81.00 Louis Oosthuizen
81.00 Kevin Streelman
81.00 Camilo Villegas
81.00 Zach Johnson
101.00 Ryan Palmer
101.00 Ian Poulter
101.00 Gary Woodland
101.00 Harris English
101.00 Fredrik Jacobson
126.00 Kevin Chappell
126.00 Tim Clark
126.00 Kevin Na
126.00 Ernie Els
126.00 Chris Kirk
126.00 Brendon Todd
126.00 Billy Horschel
151.00 William McGirt
151.00 Scott Langley
151.00 Kevin Stadler
151.00 Justin Hicks
151.00 John Senden
151.00 Charley Hoffman
151.00 Carl Pettersson
151.00 Brian Harman
151.00 Brendon De Jonge
151.00 Bo Van Pelt
151.00 Angel Cabrera
151.00 Kevin Kisner
151.00 J B Holmes
201.00 Stewart Cink
201.00 Vijay Singh
201.00 Russell Knox
201.00 Russell Henley
201.00 Retief Goosen
201.00 Michael Putnam
201.00 Matt Jones
201.00 Matt Every
201.00 K J Choi
201.00 Jonas Blixt
201.00 John Huh
201.00 Geoff Ogilvy
201.00 David Toms
201.00 Chris Stroud
201.00 Cameron Tringale
201.00 Brendan Steele
201.00 Ben Martin
201.00 Andres Romero
201.00 Seung-Yul Noh
201.00 Jhonattan Vegas
201.00 Charles Howell III
251.00 Scott Brown
251.00 Ryo Ishikawa
251.00 Robert Streb
251.00 Robert Garrigus
251.00 Ricky Barnes
251.00 Pat Perez
251.00 Luke Guthrie
251.00 Jerry Kelly
251.00 Jeff Overton
251.00 George McNeill
251.00 David Hearn
251.00 Daniel Summerhays
251.00 Andrew Svoboda
251.00 Aaron Baddeley
251.00 Shawn Stefani
251.00 Rory Sabbatini
251.00 Michael Thompson
251.00 Gonzalo Fernandez-Castano
251.00 Brian Stuard
251.00 Sang-Moon Bae
301.00 Tim Wilkinson
301.00 Robert Allenby
301.00 Stuart Appleby
301.00 Scott Stallings
301.00 Martin Flores
301.00 Justin Leonard
301.00 Jason Kokrak
301.00 Jason Bohn
301.00 Brice Garnett
301.00 Brian Davis
301.00 Boo Weekley
301.00 Billy Hurley III
301.00 Steven Bowditch
301.00 Morgan Hoffmann
301.00 Erik Compton
301.00 Bryce Molder
301.00 Ben Crane
401.00 Will MacKenzie
401.00 Troy Merritt
401.00 Danny Lee
401.00 James Hahn
501.00 Chesson Hadley


Graham J Gordon, The Editor and Owner, GolfblogspotUK

The GolfblogspotUK website is owned and run by former Walker Cup player and European Tour card holder, Graham J Gordon, from Scotland, the Home of Golf. The owner is a golf fanatic who had to retire early from competitive tour play due to a back injury that required surgery. Graham wishes to share his knowledge and own experiences of the game with the GolfblogspotUK community and to receive your feedback on all aspects of the sport. Graham has been playing the game for over 20 years and received a great deal of pleasure from the sport. He has met several friends and visited many different places around the world, thanks to playing the great game of golf. Time to put a little back into the game to help others.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>