Ponte Vedra Beach, Fla. – The PGA TOUR announced today Rory McIlroy (pictured by Getty Images) as the PGA TOUR Player of the Year and Chesson Hadley as PGA TOUR Rookie of the Year, as voted on by the TOUR’s membership for the 2013-14 Season.

PGA TOUR members who played in at least 15 official money events this past season were eligible to vote. The balloting process ended on September 25.

“My congratulations to Rory and Chesson for their outstanding accomplishments that earned them season-ending honors from their peers” said PGA TOUR Commissioner, Tim Finchem. “Both players earned their awards with their consistent and steady play throughout the season.”

Rory McIlroy – PGA TOUR Player of the Year

McIlroy, 25, receives the Jack Nicklaus Award in recognition of being voted PGA TOUR Player of the Year for the second time in three seasons. In 2012, he became the youngest player to earn the award since Tiger Woods in 1999. Since the PGA TOUR began its Player of the Year Award in 1990, McIlroy becomes the fourth player to receive the honor multiple times, joining 11-time winner Tiger Woods and two-time winners Greg Norman and Nick Price.

McIlroy won three times on the PGA TOUR this season, doing so in impressive fashion by winning in consecutive starts at The Open Championship, World Golf Championships-Bridgestone Invitational and PGA Championship – with the latter representing his fourth Major Championship. He became the first player since Padraig Harrington (2008) with wins in back-to-back major championships.

Following his victory at the Bridgestone Invitational, McIlroy regained the No. 1 spot in the Official World Golf Ranking and has held the top position ever since.

A model of consistency throughout the season, McIlroy tallied a TOUR-best 12 top-10 finishes and failed to finish outside the top 25 in any of his 17 TOUR starts. In addition to his three wins, he also added runner-up finishes at The Honda Classic and TOUR Championship by Coca-Cola, with his second-place finish at East Lake leading to a third-place finish in the FedExCup.

McIlroy earned the Arnold Palmer Award as the TOUR’s leading official money winner ($8,280,096). He also was the winner of the Byron Nelson Award for adjusted scoring average (68.83).

The Northern Ireland native is one of three Europeans to earn the Jack Nicklaus Award, joining England’s Luke Donald (2011) and Ireland’s Padraig Harrington (2008).

McIlroy was selected over Billy Horschel, Martin Kaymer, Jimmy Walker and Bubba Watson.

Source: PGA TOUR


Graham J Gordon, The Editor and Owner, GolfblogspotUK

The GolfblogspotUK website is owned and run by former Walker Cup player and European Tour card holder, Graham J Gordon, from Scotland, the Home of Golf. The owner is a golf fanatic who had to retire early from competitive tour play due to a back injury that required surgery. Graham wishes to share his knowledge and own experiences of the game with the GolfblogspotUK community and to receive your feedback on all aspects of the sport. Graham has been playing the game for over 20 years and received a great deal of pleasure from the sport. He has met several friends and visited many different places around the world, thanks to playing the great game of golf. Time to put a little back into the game to help others.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>