Recent Major Championship Trends

Dating to the 2009 Masters (22 majors), the 54-hole leader/co-leader has won just seven times: Martin Kaymer (2014 U.S. Open), Bubba Watson (2014 Masters), Rory McIlroy (2012 PGA Championship, 2011 U.S. Open), Darren Clarke (2011 Open Championship), Louis Oosthuizen (2010 Open Championship) and Angel Cabrera (2009 Masters).

International players have won five of the last eight majors (2014 U.S. Open/Martin Kaymer, 2013 U.S. Open/Justin Rose, 2013 Masters/Adam Scott, 2012 PGA Championship/Rory McIlroy and 2012 Open Championship/Ernie Els).

The last 23 major championships have been won by 19 different players. Martin Kaymer, Phil Mickelson, Bubba Watson and Rory McIlroy are the only players with two wins in majors in that span.

Year/  Winner/  Major                           

2014  Martin Kaymer U.S. Open

2014  Bubba Watson Masters

2013 Jason Dufner  PGA Championship

2013  Phil Mickelson  Open Championship

2013  Justin Rose  U.S. Open

2013  Adam Scott   Masters

2012  Rory McIlroy  PGA Championship

2012 Ernie Els  Open Championship

2012  Webb Simpson  U.S. Open

2012  Bubba Watson  Masters                                   

2011 Keegan Bradley  PGA Championship                              

2011 Darren Clarke  Open Championship                 

2011 Rory McIlroy  U.S. Open                    

2011 Charl Schwartzel Masters                                               

2010 Martin Kaymer PGA Championship                              

2010  Louis Oosthuizen Open Championship                 

2010  Graeme McDowell U.S. Open                    

2010 Phil Mickelson Masters                                   

2009 Y.E. Yang  PGA Championship                              

2009  Stewart Cink  Open Championship                 

2009  Lucas Glover U.S. Open                    

2009  Angel Cabrera  Masters                                   

2008  Padraig Harrington  PGA Championship

Active consecutive major appearances (counting this week):

Player/ Consecutive starts       

Sergio Garcia  61                                            

Adam Scott 53                                                        

Most major starts without a victory (entering this week):

Player/ Starts  

Lee Westwood 65                    

Sergio Garcia  63                    

Steve Stricker 63 (Not in the Open Championship field)                        

K.J. Choi 52   


Graham J Gordon, The Editor and Owner, GolfblogspotUK

The GolfblogspotUK website is owned and run by former Walker Cup player and European Tour card holder, Graham J Gordon, from Scotland, the Home of Golf. The owner is a golf fanatic who had to retire early from competitive tour play due to a back injury that required surgery. Graham wishes to share his knowledge and own experiences of the game with the GolfblogspotUK community and to receive your feedback on all aspects of the sport. Graham has been playing the game for over 20 years and received a great deal of pleasure from the sport. He has met several friends and visited many different places around the world, thanks to playing the great game of golf. Time to put a little back into the game to help others.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>