Modderfontein’s Marco Steyn, Dylan Naidoo and Karabo Mokoena kept their title defence on track through the first 36 holes of the Louis Oosthuizen SA Junior Club Teams Championship at Mossel Bay Golf Club.

The trio combined for a first round four-under-par 212 on Saturday morning and fended off strong opposition from Centurion, Dainfern and Kingswood in the afternoon to post a second round 217.

The defending champions will head into Sunday’s final round with a three stroke cushion on three-under-par 429.

Unlike last year when Modderfontein came from behind at Clarens Country Club to beat Polokwane for the title, the defending champions hit the front early on.

Steyn fired a brilliant seven-under-par 65 to help his team to pole position and returned a 73 in the second round.

Naidoo and Mokoena carded respective rounds of 70 and 77 in the first round, but reigning Nomads SA Boys U-17 champion Naidoo and Mokoena set the target in the second round with a pair of 72s.

Mokoena contributed a 72 and Steyn signed for the 73.

The final member of the team, Eric Wowor, registered non-counting rounds of 83 and 78.

Meanwhile David Meyers helped Dainfern into second on 435.

Coming off a recent win at the Mpumalanga Championship, Meyers opened with a 72 and fired a second round 67. Cameron Walker returned rounds of 75 and 71 and Dean Martin added a first round 77 and second 73 for rounds of 224 and 211.

The Gauteng side is two shots clear of local challengers Kingswoods, who lead by one from Centurion and Steenburg.

The Louis Oosthuizen SA Junior Club Teams Championship has grown in stature and a total of 20 teams travelled across the country to compete in the third edition of premier junior team event.

Former Open champion, Louis Oosthuizen, launched the event in 2012 and recently extended his sponsorship by a further three years.

“The support and popularity of the championship completely exceeded all our expectations,” he said.

“Champions are created at junior level and I am thrilled to extend my sponsorship to continue to encourage junior golf development in South Africa.”


429 – Modderfontein Golf Club 212 217

435 – Dainfern Country Club 224 211

437 – Kingswood Golf Club 216 221

438 – Centurion Golf Club 215 223; Steenberg Golf Club 215 223

440 – Kempton Park 223 217

447 – Mount Edgecombe Country Club 225 222

452 – Randpark Golf Club 231 221; Bloemfontein Golf Club 229 223

454 – Fancourt 226228

455 – State Mines 230 225

463 – Louis 57 Golf Academy 230 233

464 – Royal Durban Golf Club 228 236; East London Golf Club 228 236

466 – Rondebosch Golf Club 239 227

472 – Middelburg Country Club 231 241

475 – Nelspruit Golf Club 234 241

479 – Blue Valley Golf Club 245 234

492 – Klerksdorp Golf Club 240 252

521 – Kimberly Golf Club 261 260


138 – Rosswell Sinclair 71 67; Marco Steyn 65 73
139 – David Meyers 72 67; Jason Froneman 71 68
141 – Cameron Moralee 68 73
142 – Dylan Naidoo 70 72; Noel Anderson 69 7383, 78
145 – Wilco Nienaber 75 70; Luke Mayo 71 74; Luke Woods 70 75


Graham J Gordon, The Editor and Owner, GolfblogspotUK

The GolfblogspotUK website is owned and run by former Walker Cup player and European Tour card holder, Graham J Gordon, from Scotland, the Home of Golf. The owner is a golf fanatic who had to retire early from competitive tour play due to a back injury that required surgery. Graham wishes to share his knowledge and own experiences of the game with the GolfblogspotUK community and to receive your feedback on all aspects of the sport. Graham has been playing the game for over 20 years and received a great deal of pleasure from the sport. He has met several friends and visited many different places around the world, thanks to playing the great game of golf. Time to put a little back into the game to help others.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>