15 year old Julie McCarthy (Forrest Little) will defend her title this week when the Irish Girls’ Close Championship takes place at Shannon Golf Club, 16-19 July 2014.

The Championship will no doubt be fiercely contested as the field boasts the current Irish Ladies Close Champion Mary Doyle (The Heath) and the Irish Girls Open Strokeplay Champion Olivia Mehaffey (Royal Co. Down Ladies).  Olivia will be keen to go one better having been runner-up at this event for the last two years.  Mary and Olivia were both selected on the Irish Ladies team that partook in European Ladies Team Championship last week in Slovenia.

In addition to Julie McCarthy, the remaining five of Irish Girls Internationals who competed at the European Girls’ Team Championships in Slovakia are in the field, namely Ciara Casey (Hermitage), Mairead Martin (Killarney), Niamh McSherry (Lurgan), Niamh Ward (Lurgan) and Chloe Weir (Shandon Park).

An additional incentive for the competing field will be the announcement following the Championship of the 8 player Irish Girls’ International team who will compete in the Girls Home International Matches at Donabate Golf Club, Dublin 6th – 8th August where it is hoped that home support will be a strong influence. The team will be captained by Darragh McGowan (Ballybofey & Stranorlar) and managed by Gemma Butler (Birr).

Shannon Golf Club, established in 1966 the course has matured into one of the best inland courses in Munster and Ireland.   The Girls Championship course of 5809 yards will prove a strong challenge with water hazards a feature on the 6th, 7th, 8th, 14th and the par three 17th is the signature hole which requires a shot over the Shannon Estuary.

The field which was increased to 84 competitors to include entries with a handicap 22 or less (with half the field under 10) will play 36 holes strokeplay on Wednesday with the top 32 players qualifying for the championship match play flight.  The first round losers in the Championship with contest the plate while the non qualifiers will play  stableford competitions on days 2 and 3.  

Spectators are welcome to Shannon Golf Club to watch some great golf while enjoying the beautiful scenery in what is expected to be nice weather conditions!


Rd 1  Rd 2

07:00 12:30 Julie McCarthy (Forrest Little)  Olivia Mehaffey (Royal Co. Down L)  Mary Doyle (The Heath)
07:09 12:39 Chloe Weir (Shandon Park)  Niamh McSherry (Lurgan)  Ciara Casey (Hermitage)
07:18 12:48 Niamh Ward (Lurgan)  Sophie Harrison (Killeen Castle)  Meadhbh Doyle (Portarlington)
07:27 12:57 Annabel Wilson (Lurgan)  Katie Aherne (Waterford Castle)  Mairead Martin (Killarney)
07:36 13:06 Hannah Henderson (Ballyclare)  Rachel Taylor (Laytown & Bettystown)  Molly Dowling (Lucan)
07:45 13:15 Caitriona Griffin (Killarney)  Gemma McCarthy (Clonmel)  Ciara Magill (East Clare)
07:54 13:24 Alice Hutchinson (St. Anne’s)  Clodagh Jones (Roscrea)  Tara Whelan (East Clare)
08:03 13:33 Rachael McDonnell (Elm Park)  Victoria Craig (Royal Belfast)  Zoe Collins (Castle Royle)
08:12 13:42 Lisa O’Shea (Shannon)  Ellie Metcalfe (Laytown & Bettystown)  Clodagh Walsh (Castlewarden)
08:21 13:51 Ciara Leonard (Mitchelstown)  Maeve Kelly (Castle Dargan)  Nicole McGavisk (Donabate)
08:30 14:00 Maeve Rooney (Co. Sligo)  Laura Ryan (Dun Laoghaire)  Nicola Rainsford (Killarney)
08:39 14:09 Rachel Thompson (Cork)  Caroline Hewitt (Courtown)  Maeve Cummins (Lurgan)
08:48 14:18 Grace McGrath (East Cork)  Niamh Moreton (Galway)  Aideen Walsh (Woodstock)
08:57 14:27 Aoife Ni Thuama (Monkstown)  Jenna Coleman (Tramore)  Clare Calvert (Royal Co. Down L)
09:06 14:36 Sara Browne (Kilkenny)  Eibhlin McCarthy (Killorglin)  Jill Jennings (Carlow)
09:15 14:45 Niamh Carmody (Tralee)  Hilary O’Driscoll (Muskerry)  Elisa Corcoran (Grange)
09:24 14:54 Sara Byrne (Douglas)  Elizabeth Kinsella Kent (Faithlegg)  Laura McCaw (Royal Belfast)
09:33 15:03 Roisin Timothy (Roscommon)  Ellen O’Gorman (Milltown)  Aine Donegan (Woodstock)
09:42 15:12 Megan Evans (Mill Hill, ENG)  Louise Bickerstaffe (Scrabo)  Kate Dwyer (Rossmore)
09:51 15:21 Niamh Cronin (Co. Sligo)  Dervla O’Neill (Drumoland)  Lorna Mullally (Tuam)
10:00 15:30 Ellen Nolan (Grange)  Lauren Walsh (Castlewarden)  Michelle Carey (Lahinch)
10:09 15:39 Emma Elliott (Faithlegg)  Ailbhe Bourke (Enniscrone)  Aoife Vaughan (Shannon)
10:18 15:48 Kate McElroy (Faithlegg)  Chloe O’Connor (Roscommon)  Niamh Carey (Lahinch)
10:27 15:57 Katie Keenan (Kilkenny)  Georgia Carr (Milltown) Aoife Moloney (Ballybunion)
10:36 16:06 Samantha Henderson (Ballyclare)  Cliodhna Drury (Charlesland)  Sarah Burke (Mullingar)
10:45 16:15 Anna Dawson (Tramore)  Sophie Dodd (Enniscrone)  Heather Fitzgerald (Limerick)
10:54 16:24 Emma Forbes (Newtownstewart)  Leanne O’Shea (Shannon)  Leah Temple Lang (Seapoint)
11:03 16:33 Emma Guinane (Limerick)  Jan Browne (Kilkenny)  Stephanie Glennon (Grange)

Source: ILGU


Graham J Gordon, The Editor and Owner, GolfblogspotUK

The GolfblogspotUK website is owned and run by former Walker Cup player and European Tour card holder, Graham J Gordon, from Scotland, the Home of Golf. The owner is a golf fanatic who had to retire early from competitive tour play due to a back injury that required surgery. Graham wishes to share his knowledge and own experiences of the game with the GolfblogspotUK community and to receive your feedback on all aspects of the sport. Graham has been playing the game for over 20 years and received a great deal of pleasure from the sport. He has met several friends and visited many different places around the world, thanks to playing the great game of golf. Time to put a little back into the game to help others.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>