Juan Langeveld continued his march towards becoming the 2014 Big Easy Tour champion when he shot 70 on Tuesday for a two-shot lead ahead of the final round.

The 31-year-old carded 69 on day one and slept on the lead. He managed a solid 70 at The Els Club, Copperleaf on Tuesday to reach the 36-hole mark on five-under-par.

“It was a good round today and I limited my mistakes. I played solid and can’t really complain, because the game’s there and I’m playing consistent golf. Any round under par at this course is good and I feel like I’ve kept the momentum going for tomorrow,” he said.

Earlier this season the Capetonian led going into the final round of the Sunshine Tour’s Qualifying School and he went on to shoot 70 for the final round and win.

The Big Easy Tour Championship carries a R200,000 prize pool and the winner takes home R32,680, so it’s a bigger stage than qualifying school. At the end of the tournament the leader on the Order of Merit is crowned the 2014 Big Easy champion, which is an accolade that Langeveld wants.

“It would be nice to do it, but I won’t count my chickens before they hatch. It would mean a lot to win this and I’m looking forward to tomorrow, but we’ll see what the day brings and take it from there,” he said.

Leading the chase was local member Maritz Wessels, who birdied the 18th for a Tuesday 69 that gave him a fighting chance. The 27-year-old won Big Easy Wingate Park and has enjoyed the opportunity to compete on the development tour.

“It’s quite exciting to go into an event like the Tour Championship. It’s a nice initiative for the tour to give us an event like this where you have an opportunity to feel what it would be like to go into a FedExCup or an Investec Cup in future,” he said.

Also in with a shout was Roberto Lupini, who shot 70 during the second round for a one-under-par total. He’s four shots back and needs a low one to catch up and have a chance tomorrow.

GOLF SCORES (RSA unless otherwise specified):

139 – Juan Langeveld 69 70

141 – Maritz Wessels 72 69

143 – Roberto Lupini 73 70

144 – JC Ritchie 70 74

145 – Lean Boezaart 76 69, Clifford Howes 72 73

146 – Drikus van der Walt 79 67, Pieter Kruger 73 73

147 – Morne Buys 75 72, Kevin Stone 75 72, Eddie Taylor 73 74, Ryan Clarke 73 74

148 – Gideon Pienaar 77 71

149 – Kenneth Dube 74 75, Werner van Niekerk 72 77

150 – Henk Alberts 75 75, Andrew Light 73 77, Callie Swart 71 79

151 – Mark Fensham 79 72, Dongkwan Kim (KOR) 79 72, Chris Erasmus 77 74, Ryan Ciapparelli 76 75

153 – Tyrone Ryan 78 75

154 – Irvin Mazibuko 79 75, Rhys West 78 76, Gert Myburgh 77 77, Stefan Engell Andersen (KEN) 77 77

155 – TJ Bekker 76 79, Beyers Smith 76 79

161 – Tiaan Diederiks 81 80

Source: Sunshine Tour


Graham J Gordon, The Editor and Owner, GolfblogspotUK

The GolfblogspotUK website is owned and run by former Walker Cup player and European Tour card holder, Graham J Gordon, from Scotland, the Home of Golf. The owner is a golf fanatic who had to retire early from competitive tour play due to a back injury that required surgery. Graham wishes to share his knowledge and own experiences of the game with the GolfblogspotUK community and to receive your feedback on all aspects of the sport. Graham has been playing the game for over 20 years and received a great deal of pleasure from the sport. He has met several friends and visited many different places around the world, thanks to playing the great game of golf. Time to put a little back into the game to help others.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>