Portumna’s Suzanne Corcoran will commence the defence of her Irish Seniors title when competitors tee it up at the ILGU’s Senior Women’s Close Championship at Athenry Golf Club, on Tuesday 1 July.

Seniors International Sheena McElroy (Grange) looks the most likely to pose a threat to Corcoran’s title having recently finished joint third at the European Senior Ladies’ Individual in Spain. Additionally McElroy has been crowned Irish champion a notable three times in the past six years. Last year’s runner up Carol Wickham (Laytown & Bettystown) will also look to avenge her 2013 final defeat at Woodenbridge while once again Laura Webb (nee Bolton) will return to these shores for only her second attempt at the title.

Fellow Seniors’ Internationals Helen Jones (Royal Portrush) and Gertie McMullan (The Island) are also tipped for success while 2014 could at long last be Pat Doran’s year as the Donabate golfer is well overdue an Irish Seniors title having been runner up in the British Seniors twice in the last three years.

The field will play 18 holes over the immaculate parkland layout at Athenry on Tuesday and Wednesday, with the top 16 qualifying for matchplay over the following two days. Players in positions seventeen through thirty-two will qualify for a matchplay Plate.

An additional incentive for the field this year will be the valuable Order of Merit points on offer for players eyeing selection on the Irish team for the European Senior Ladies’ Team Championships in Austria in September. As defending champions, Ireland will look to retain the trophy captured for the first time on Slovenian soil last year. Admission is complimentary and spectators are most welcome.



09:00 Anne Wynne (Tullamore) Helen O’Donoghue (Clonmel) Yvonne MacSweeney (Wexford)
09:10 Fiona Glass (Ballycastle) Elizabeth Neville (Bearna) Lucia Farrell (Royal Tara)
09:20 Kate O’Meara (Bearna) Síghle Henigan (Ballybunion) Mary Geaney (Killarney)
09:30 Mary Kavanagh (New Ross) Catherine Carty (Tullamore) Michele Quinn (Dundalk)
09:40 Margaret Atkinson (Wexford) Maria McNamara (Athenry) Carmel Cahill (Hermitage)
09:50 Marie Conlon (The Heath) Carmel Murphy (Wexford) Valerie Hassett (Ennis)
10:00 Carol Wickham (Laytown & Bettystown) Suzanne Corcoran (Portumna) Pat Doran (Donabate)
10:10 Kate Evans (RCD Ladies) Laura Webb (East Berkshire) Gertie McMullen (The Island)
10:20 Pauline Walsh (Headfort) Helen Jones (Royal Portrush) Sheena McElroy (Grange)
10:40 Marjorie Ahern (Lahinch) Fiona McComb (Ballycastle) Mary Kinsella (Tullamore)
10:50 Helen Egan (Tullamore) Gemma Butler (Birr) Ruth Maguire (Corrstown)
11:00 Toni McDonagh (Fortwilliam) Stephanie McNiff (Tullamore) Pamela Morgan (Lahinch)
11:10 Lily Owens (Malahide) Valerie Shannon (Lahinch) Mary Dowling (Mallow)
11:20 Sinead Heraty (Castle) Clodagh Hopkins (Woodbrook) Mary Madden (Ballinasloe)
11:30 Marie Carr (Athenry) Fionnuala McGrady (Dunmurry) Mary MacLaren (Wellingborough)
11:40 Marilyn Henderson (Royal Belfast) Mary Duane (Hermitage) Violet McBride (Belvoir Park)
11:50 Vivienne Houston (City of Derry) Niamh Giblin (Dun Laoghaire) Catherine Reilly (The Heath)


09:00 Marjorie Ahern (Lahinch) Helen Egan (Tullamore) Toni McDonagh (Fortwilliam)
09:10 Catherine Carty (Tullamore) Carmel Murphy (Wexford) Maria McNamara (Athenry)
09:20 Valerie Hassett (Ennis) Michele Quinn (Dundalk) Carmel Cahill (Hermitage)
09:30 Lily Owens (Malahide) Sinead Heraty (Castle) Marie Carr (Athenry)
09:40 Clodagh Hopkins (Woodbrook) Fionnuala McGrady (Dunmurry) Valerie Shannon (Lahinch)
09:50 Mary Dowling (Mallow) Mary Duane (Hermitage) Niamh Giblin (Dun Laoghaire)
10:00 Gemma Butler (Birr) Stephanie McNiff (Tullamore) Fiona McComb (Ballycastle)
10:10 Marilyn Henderson (Royal Belfast) Vivienne Houston (City of Derry) Mary Madden (Ballinasloe)
10:20 Pamela Morgan (Lahinch) Mary Kinsella (Tullamore) Ruth Maguire (Corrstown)
10:40 Anne Wynne (Tullamore) Fiona Glass (Ballycastle) Kate O’Meara (Bearna)
10:50 Helen O’Donoghue (Clonmel) Elizabeth Neville (Bearna) Síghle Henigan (Ballybunion)
11:00 Yvonne MacSweeney (Wexford) Mary Geaney (Killarney) Lucia Farrell (Royal Tara)
11:10 Mary Kavanagh (New Ross) Margaret Atkinson (Wexford) Marie Conlon (The Heath)
11:20 Catherine Reilly (The Heath) Violet McBride (Belvoir Park) Mary MacLaren (Wellingborough)
11:30 Laura Webb (East Berkshire) Carol Wickham (Laytown & Bettystown) Sheena McElroy (Grange)
11:40 Suzanne Corcoran (Portumna) Gertie McMullen (The Island) Helen Jones (Royal Portrush)
11:50 Pat Doran (Donabate) Kate Evans (RCD Ladies) Pauline Walsh (Headfort)

Source: ILGU


Graham J Gordon, The Editor and Owner, GolfblogspotUK

The GolfblogspotUK website is owned and run by former Walker Cup player and European Tour card holder, Graham J Gordon, from Scotland, the Home of Golf. The owner is a golf fanatic who had to retire early from competitive tour play due to a back injury that required surgery. Graham wishes to share his knowledge and own experiences of the game with the GolfblogspotUK community and to receive your feedback on all aspects of the sport. Graham has been playing the game for over 20 years and received a great deal of pleasure from the sport. He has met several friends and visited many different places around the world, thanks to playing the great game of golf. Time to put a little back into the game to help others.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>