TSHWANE, 30 July 2014 – He felt it was a little scrappy, but Limpopo native Hendrikus did more than enough to fend off his pursuers and claim a two stroke victory at the IGT Tour’s second Race to Asian Q-School at Centurion Country Club on Wednesday.

The 23-year-old TuksSport Golf Academy member racked up three birdies over the last four holes at his home course to storm home in four-under-par 68 and claim victory on seven-under-par 209.

Joint overnight leader, Jason Roets, closed with a 71 to slip into second, finishing a stroke ahead of Coert Groenewald, whose final round 70 edged Jaco Mouton (68), Juan Swart (72) and joint second round leader, Teaghan Gauche (73) into fourth on three under.

Stoop claimed his first podium finish at the EP Border Stroke Play Championship in February. After a third place finish at the Limpopo Open earlier this month, he felt a second victory was looming.

“Over the last few weeks, I just got this feeling that a win was just around the corner,” Stoop said.

“It definitely wasn’t a pretty win, but all that matters is how I handled the pressure down and winning here at my home course.”

Stoop overcame a bogey-bogey start with birdies at the 12th, 14th and 15th.

He was one off the pace at the turn, but poured in a 20-footer for eagle at the par-five first to grab a share of the lead with fellow TuksSport Golf Academy member Gauche.

“And just when it was going really well, I dropped shots at the third and fifth,” Stoop said.

“Look, it was tough out there. Darren Fichardt drove around the course and helped our local pro, Hans Jonck, with the pin positions.

“We knew we were in for a tough day at the office, but that’s what will make us better players. The pins were tucked into corners and impossible places. It really tested our skills and patience and you knew you would leave a few out there.

“One thing I’m getting better at is letting those things ride and focus on the holes you have left.”

The Monument Park resident drained a 12-footer for birdie at the sixth, narrowly missed an eagle putt at the seventh and knocked in a three-footer for birdie at the ninth to seal his win.

The eight champions of the IGT Tour’s eight event Race to Asian Q-School will receive sponsorship in excess of R350,000 to compete in the Asian Tour’s Qualifying School early next year.

Stoop was thrilled to join last week’s winner Pieter Kruger so early in the series.

“Going to Asia is a great opportunity and definitely worth playing for, because testing yourself in Asia will be an incredible experience,” he said.

The young gun was also especially proud to show his coach of five years that all the blood, sweat and tears was worth it.

“I had very little golf training when I was at school, and I moved to Pretoria after matric to get some proper coaching,” Stoop explained.

“When I began working with Llewellyn van Leeuwen, he warned me that it would take at least four years but I would start to win. Lew has coached a lot of winners and I am really proud that I can add my name to the list.”

The next Race to Asian Q-School will be held at Irene Country Club from 11-13 August.


209 - Hendrikus Stoop (AMA) 73 68 68

211 - Jason Roets (AMA) 73 67 71

212 - Coert Groenewald 73 69 70

213 - Jaco Mouton 76 69 68, Juan Swart 69 72 72, Teaghan Gauche (AMA) 71 69 73

214 - Hano van der Walt 72 71 71, Keegan De Lange (AMA) 67 74 73

215 - Werner Van Niekerk 74 70 71, Antonio Rosado POR 78 66 71

217 - Divan Marais (AMA) 75 71 71, Otto van Greunen 72 71 74, Pieter Kruger 70 73 74

218 - Rae Mackie 73 76 69, Rosswell Sinclair (AMA) 74 72 72

219 - Brendan De Lange 68 80 71, Conway Kunneke 74 70 75

220 - Jacques de Villiers 69 81 70, James Searson 75 74 71, Jerry Steyn 72 74 74

221 - Ruan Huysamen NAM 75 75 71, Tyron Mc Comb 72 72 77, NJ Arnoldi (AMA) 72 70 79

222 - DK Kim KOR 73 76 73, Bryn Flanagan (AMA) 73 75 74, Terence Boardman 72 75 75

223 - Duane Keun 76 77 70, Stephan Erasmus (AMA) 79 74 70, Ted Hendriks 75 74 74, Jason Froneman (AMA) 72 73 78

224 - Willie Steyn 71 78 75, Ryan Clarke 74 73 77

225 - Andi Dill (AMA) 78 73 74

226 - Calvin Caldeira (AMA) 80 71 75, Herman Minnie 76 74 76

227 - Michael Dreyer 74 77 76

228 - Wayne Stroebel 79 74 75, Niel Meyer (AMA) 75 77 76

229 - Gerrit Foster 74 80 75

230 - Wesley Baptiste (AMA) 74 79 77, Ruwan Combrink 79 73 78, Clinton Cheia (AMA) 78 74 78, Jonathan Raphunga 75 77 78, Albert Visser (AMA) 73 77 80

231 - Werner Van Wyk (AMA) 81 71 79, Eduard Van Den Berg (AMA) 74 77 80

232 - Eric Nel (AMA) 81 74 77, Shika Letoaba 78 75 79

234 - Christiaan Pretorius 76 78 80

236 - Alwyn Vorster 77 76 83

239 - Dwayne Coetzee 81 74 84


Graham J Gordon, The Editor and Owner, GolfblogspotUK

The GolfblogspotUK website is owned and run by former Walker Cup player and European Tour card holder, Graham J Gordon, from Scotland, the Home of Golf. The owner is a golf fanatic who had to retire early from competitive tour play due to a back injury that required surgery. Graham wishes to share his knowledge and own experiences of the game with the GolfblogspotUK community and to receive your feedback on all aspects of the sport. Graham has been playing the game for over 20 years and received a great deal of pleasure from the sport. He has met several friends and visited many different places around the world, thanks to playing the great game of golf. Time to put a little back into the game to help others.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>