History of the Open Championship

This is the 143rd Open Championship, with the first being played in 1860.

The youngest Open Championship winner is Tommy Morris Jr. (1868; 17 years, 5 months, 3 days)

The oldest Open winner is Tom Morris Sr., winning in 1867 at the age of 46 years and 99 days.

Harry Vardon owns the most victories at the Open Championship, with six (1896, 1898, 1899, 1903, 1911, 1914). The list of five-time winners includes James Braid, J.H. Taylor, Peter Thomson and Tom Watson.

Amateur winners: Bobby Jones (1926, 1927, 1930), Harold Hilton (1892, 1897), John Ball (1890).

Courses hosting the Open Championship more than once: St. Andrews (28 times), Prestwick (24), Muirfield (16), Royal St. George’s (14), Royal Lytham & St. Annes (11), Royal Liverpool/Hoylake (11), Royal Birkdale (9), Royal Troon (8), Carnoustie (7), Musselburgh (6), Turnberry (4), Royal Cinque Ports (2) andRoyal Liverpool (2).

Future Venues: 2015 (St. Andrews), 2016 (Royal Troon).

Source: PGA TOUR


Graham J Gordon, The Editor and Owner, GolfblogspotUK

The GolfblogspotUK website is owned and run by former Walker Cup player and European Tour card holder, Graham J Gordon, from Scotland, the Home of Golf. The owner is a golf fanatic who had to retire early from competitive tour play due to a back injury that required surgery. Graham wishes to share his knowledge and own experiences of the game with the GolfblogspotUK community and to receive your feedback on all aspects of the sport. Graham has been playing the game for over 20 years and received a great deal of pleasure from the sport. He has met several friends and visited many different places around the world, thanks to playing the great game of golf. Time to put a little back into the game to help others.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>