2014 McGLADREY CLASSIC (The 3rd of 43 events in the PGA TOUR Season), St. Simons Island, GA, October 20-26, 2014; Purse: $5,600,000; Sea Island GC (Seaside Course), Par/Yards: 35-35—70/7,005 – First-Round Notes – Thursday October 23, 2014

Weather: Sunny with a high of 72 degrees. Winds NNE 10-15 mph.

First-Round Leaderboard

Erik Compton 65 (-5)
Brian Harman 65 (-5)  (Pictured by Getty Images)
Michael Thompson 65 (-5)
Will MacKenzie 65 (-5)

UGA Notes

Erik Compton and Brian Harman are looking to follow in the footsteps of fellow former University of Georgia player and 2013-14 McGladrey Classic winner Chris Kirk.

The only Georgia Bulldog alums to win the same PGA TOUR event in back-to-back seasons are Chip Beck (1988) and Tim Simpson (1989) at the Zurich Classic of New Orleans.

Last season University of Georgia graduates won eight events on TOUR; Chris Kirk (2), Bubba Watson (2), Russell Henley, Harris English, Brendon Todd and Brian Harman. Patrick Reed, who played one year at Georgia, won two times.

There have been 10 former Georgia Bulldogs win on the PGA TOUR. Bubba Watson leads the group with six career wins.

Erik Compton
Compton’s only lead after any round of a TOUR event was after round one at the 2010 Greenbrier Classic (T73).

Compton at the McGladrey Classic: 2012/T84 (MDF) and 2013/T63.

Compton’s 65 is his best round at the McGladrey Classic.

To start the 2014-15 season, Compton has finished T46 at the open and T28 at the Shriners Hospitals for Children Open.

Compton was on the University of Georgia golf team that won the SEC Championship on St. Simons Island in 2001. Compton also was a member of the 2001 Walker Cup team that was contested on St. Simons Island.

Tommy Gainey is the only player to record his first TOUR win at the McGladrey Classic.

Brian Harman
Harman matched his best round at Sea Island GC today with a 65. His other 65 came in round three in 2012.

Harman’s only previous leads after a round on TOUR were after rounds one and three at the John Deere Classic which he won.

Harman’s previous finishes at The McGladrey Classic: 2012/T27 and 2013/T10.

Since 2008, the only lefthanders to win on TOUR are Brian Harman, Phil Mickelson, Bubba Watson and Ted Potter, Jr. Harman became the 11th lefthander to win on TOUR when he won the John Deere Classic in July.

Harman is making his first start of the 2014-15 PGA TOUR season. His last event on TOUR was the BMW Championship in early September.

Michael Thompson

Thompson is making his third start in The McGladrey Classic: 2011/3rd and 2012/T10. All nine of his rounds at Sea Island GC have been in the 60s.

Thompson’s only win on TOUR came at the 2013 Honda Classic

Thompson has missed the cut in his first two starts this season at the Open and Shriners Hospitals for Children Open. He did not have a round in the 60s in either of his first two events.

Thompson held sole possession of the third-round lead at the 2011 McGladrey Classic. Thompson has had two previous first-round leads on TOUR: 2012 U.S. Open (T2) and 2014 Hyundai Tournament of Champions (T16).

Will MacKenzie

MacKenzie at The McGladrey Classic: 2010/T59, 2011/MC, 2013/MC.

Last year, MacKenzie shot rounds of 66-79 to miss the cut.

MacKenzie is coming off one of his best seasons on TOUR with a career-best five top 10s and a career-best finish in the FedExCup standings (No. 65).

MacKenzie turned in a career-best five top 10s last season, but he has not had one since March at the Valero Texas Open (T2). He missed his next eight cuts and 11 of 14 after finishing T2 at the Valero Texas Open.

MacKenzie has converted one of four previous first-round leads on TOUR:

2006 Barracuda Championship 1 Won

2007 Hyundai Tournament of Champions T1 T4

2007 Wyndham Championship 1 T7

2010 Shriners Hospitals for Children Open T1 T63

Davis Love III

Tournament host and “Team McGladrey” member Davis Love II shot a 1-over 71 in round one.

Since the event’s 2010 inception, Love finished T33/2010, MC/2011, T4/2012 and MC/2013-14.

On 26 par 5’s played at the Seaside Course, Davis Love III has only one over-par score. He made a double-bogey 7 on No. 15 in the second round last year on his way to missing the cut.

Mark Anderson recorded the first hole-in-one in tournament history at the McGladrey Classic. It is Anderson’s first career ace.

Anderson recorded a hole-in-one on the par-3 3rd hole with a 4-iron from 212 yards. As the Official Mortgage Sponsor of the PGA TOUR, Quicken Loans will award one year’s worth of mortgage payments to a lucky fan to commemorate Anderson’s ace. The Quicken Loans’ Hole-In-One Sweepstakes awards one year’s worth of mortgage payments to a randomly selected entrant for every ace during official PGA TOUR events for the remainder of the 2014 calendar year. Throughout the sweepstakes, and regardless of how many hole-in-ones are made, Quicken Loans will also randomly select a total of 60 entrants to receive a monthly mortgage payment on their home.

Anderson’s ace is already the fourth of the 2014-15 PGA TOUR season. Last season the fourth ace on TOUR did not come until the Farmers Insurance Open in January.

Miscellaneous Notes

Defending McGladrey Classic champion Chris Kirk posted a 2-under 68 in round one. Last year he shot rounds of 66-66-68-66.

“Team McGladrey” member Zach Johnson opened with a 1-over 71 in round one of The McGladrey Classic. Johnson finished T12 in 2010, missed the cut in 2011, was T49 in 2012 and finished T16 last year.

Through the first two events, Tony Finau is the highest ranked rookie in the FedExCup standings at No. 10 (144 points). Finau opened The McGladrey Classic with a 1-over 71 in round one.

Bogey-free rounds:

R1: Mark Wilson (67), Chris Kirk (68)

Last year, there were 19 bogey-free rounds in round one.

Scoring Averages at the par-70 Seaside Course:

Front 9 Back 9 Total Cumulative

R1: 34.864 35.007 69.870 —

The cumulative scoring average in 2012 was 69.281 and in 2013-14 it was 70.255.

McGladrey LLP, the leading U.S. provider of assurance, tax and consulting services focused on the middle market, which has sponsored The McGladrey Classic since its inception in 2010, announced Wednesday that they have extended their sponsor commitment by five years, through 2020.

Source: PGA TOUR


Graham J Gordon, The Editor and Owner, GolfblogspotUK

The GolfblogspotUK website is owned and run by former Walker Cup player and European Tour card holder, Graham J Gordon, from Scotland, the Home of Golf. The owner is a golf fanatic who had to retire early from competitive tour play due to a back injury that required surgery. Graham wishes to share his knowledge and own experiences of the game with the GolfblogspotUK community and to receive your feedback on all aspects of the sport. Graham has been playing the game for over 20 years and received a great deal of pleasure from the sport. He has met several friends and visited many different places around the world, thanks to playing the great game of golf. Time to put a little back into the game to help others.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>