2014 OHL Classic at Mayakoba (6th of 43 events in the PGA TOUR Season), Playa del Carmen, Mexico, November 13-16, 2014; Par/Yards: 36-35—71/6,987; El Camaleón Golf Club at Mayakoba Resort; Purse: $6,100,000; FexExCup Points: 500 (winner)

First-Round Notes – Thursday November 13, 2014

Weather: Mostly sunny turning partly cloudy with temperatures reaching 81 degrees. Winds NE 5-10 mph.

First-Round Leaderboard

Will MacKenzie 65 (-6)

Robert Garrigus 65 (-6)

Steve Wheatcroft 65 (-6)

Hudson Swafford 65 (-6)

Tony Finau 65 (-6)

Daniel Berger 65 (-6) (pictured by Getty Images)

The six players tied for the 18-hole lead is the most since six players shared the lead at the 2013 FedEx St. Jude Classic. Seven players held a share of the lead at the 2013 Wells Fargo Championship.

Will MacKenzie

MacKenzie at OHL Classic at Mayakoba: 2011/T56, 2012/T49, 2013/T12.

MacKenzie is coming off one of his best seasons on TOUR with a career-best five top 10s and a career-best finish in the FedExCup standings (No. 65).

MacKenzie turned in a career-best five top 10s last season, but went from March at the Valero Texas Open (T2) until October at the McGladrey Classic (P2) without a top 10.

After a T2 finish at the 2014 Valero Texas Open, MacKenzie missed his next eight cuts and 11 of 14.

MacKenzie has converted one of five previous first-round leads on TOUR:

2006 Barracuda Championship 1 Won

2007 Hyundai Tournament of Champions T1 T4

2007 Wyndham Championship 1 T7

2010 Shriners Hospitals for Children Open T1 T63

2014 McGladrey Classic T1 T2 (Lost in Playoff)

Robert Garrigus

Garrigus missed the cut in his two previous starts in the OHL Classic at Mayakoba (2010 and 2013).

Garrigus has not converted any of his previous three first-round leads/co-leads on TOUR.

Garrigus missed four of five cuts to close out the 2013-14 PGA TOUR Season. He opened this season by missing the cut in both of his starts at the Open and the Shriners Hospitals for Children Open.

Garrigus’ 65 in round one is his best round on TOUR since a 64 at the AT&T Byron Nelson Championship in May.

Steve Wheatcroft

Wheatcroft at the OHL Classic at Mayakoba: 2007/T55, 2010/T48 and 2012/T37.

Won the 2014 Albertsons Boise Open presented by Kraft Nabisco on the Tour to secure his PGA TOUR card for this season.

Wheatcroft held membership on the PGA TOUR in 2007, 2010, 2012 and 2014-15.

Wheatcroft’s only lead on TOUR after any round was after the second round of the 2013 Shell Houston Open (T22).

Wheatcroft’s best finish on TOUR is T3 at the 2010 Puerto Rico Open.

Hudson Swafford

Swafford missed the cut last year in his only other start in Mexico with rounds of 69-74.

Swafford is making his 32nd career start on TOUR.

The only Georgia Bulldog alums to win the same PGA TOUR event in back-to-back seasons are Chip Beck (1988) and Tim Simpson (1989) at the Zurich Classic of New Orleans.

Last season University of Georgia graduates won eight events on TOUR; Chris Kirk (2), Bubba Watson (2), Russell Henley, Harris English, Brendon Todd and Brian Harman. Patrick Reed, who played one year at Georgia, won two times. Watson won last week in China at the WGC-HSBC Champions.

There have been 10 former Georgia Bulldogs win on the PGA TOUR, led by seven-time winner Bubba Watson.

Tony Finau

Finau is making his eighth career start on TOUR. He opened his rookie season on TOUR with three top-15 finishes. He missed the cut last week at the Sanderson Farms Championship.

He has never held a lead on TOUR after any round.

Finau’s cousin is Milwaukee Bucks rookie Jabari Parker.

Daniel Berger

Berger is making his sixth career start on TOUR. The rookie’s best finish is T22 at the McGladrey Classic last month. He has not previously held a lead after any round on TOUR.

Berger’s 65 is a personal best on TOUR. He had a final round 66 at the 2014 U.S. Open (T28).


During today’s first round of the OHL Classic at Mayakoba, 2012 OHL Classic at Mayakoba winner John Huh recorded an ace on the 159-yard 15th hole, using an 8-iron. As the Official Mortgage Sponsor of the PGA TOUR, Quicken Loans will award one year’s worth of mortgage payments to Larry Dunckel from Grand Blanc, Michigan to commemorate the ace. The Quicken Loans’ Hole-In-One Sweepstakes awards one year’s worth of mortgage payments to a randomly selected entrant for every ace during official PGA TOUR events for the remainder of the 2014 calendar year. Fans can enter the sweepstakes by visiting

Huh’s ace is his first on the PGA TOUR.

It is the eighth ace on TOUR this season. Last season, the eighth hole-in-one did not come until June at the FedEx St. Jude Classic by Stuart Appleby.

It is the third hole-in-one in tournament history and first since 2011 (George McNeill).

Past Champions

Six of the seven past champions of the OHL Classic at Mayakoba are in the field this week. The only defending champion missing is Brian Gay who is injured.

Champion / Year(s) won / R1 Score

Harris English 2013 67

John Huh 2012 69

Johnson Wagner 2011 69

Cameron Beckman 2010 71

Mark Wilson 2009 72

Fred Funk 2007 69

Miscellaneous Notes

Camilo Villegas (72) and his brother Manny (74) are competing in the same event on the PGA TOUR for just the second time (2010 FedEx St. Jude Classic).

Defending OHL Classic at Mayakoba champion Harris English opened with a 67. In 2013, he shot rounds of 68-62-68-65 on his way to victory.

Cameron Beckman, Kevin Stadler and Chris Stroud are the only players to play in the OHL Classic at Mayakoba each of the first eight years of the event.

There are seven Mexican players in the field this week: Carlos Ortiz (67), Oscar Fraustro (68), Efren Serna, Jr. (71), Roberto Diaz (73), Jose de Jesus Rodriguez (76), Rodolfo E. Cazaubon (76), Gerardo Ruiz (77).

The OHL Classic at Mayakoba was the first PGA TOUR co-sanctioned event to ever be contested outside of the United States and Canada in February 2007.

Carlos Ortiz and Rodolfo Cazaubon both played in the 2007 Mayakoba Junior Golf Classic of the American Junior Golf Association. OHL has played a key role in the growth of golf in Mexico.

Below is a list of Mexican golfers who have/had membership on the PGA TOUR:

Player First Year of Membership (Hometown)

Cesar Sanudo 1969 (Navajoa)

Victor Regalado 1973 (Tijuana)

Rafael Alarcon 1983 (Guadalajara)

Esteban Toledo 1998 (Mexicali)

Alex Aragon 2006 (Mexico City)

Carlos Ortiz 2014 (Guadalajara)

Oscar Fraustro 2014 (Mexico City)

Victor Regalado is the only native Mexican golfer to win on the PGA TOUR.

Scoring Averages at the par-71 El Camaleón Golf Club:

Front 9 Back 9 Total Cumulative

R1: 34.985 34.955 69.939 —

In 2012, the cumulative scoring average for the week at El Camaleón Golf Club was 71.651.

In 2013, the cumulative scoring average for the week at El Camaleón Golf Club was 70.019.

Source: PGA TOUR


Graham J Gordon, The Editor and Owner, GolfblogspotUK

The GolfblogspotUK website is owned and run by former Walker Cup player and European Tour card holder, Graham J Gordon, from Scotland, the Home of Golf. The owner is a golf fanatic who had to retire early from competitive tour play due to a back injury that required surgery. Graham wishes to share his knowledge and own experiences of the game with the GolfblogspotUK community and to receive your feedback on all aspects of the sport. Graham has been playing the game for over 20 years and received a great deal of pleasure from the sport. He has met several friends and visited many different places around the world, thanks to playing the great game of golf. Time to put a little back into the game to help others.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>