JOHANNESBURG, 15 October 2014 – Gauteng amateur Andy Dill produced a magnificent final round at Krugersdorp Golf Club to claim a one stroke victory in the IGT Tour’s second Race to Q-School on Wednesday.

As it so often happens in golf, the players who dominated the first two rounds were overtaken by the player who had gone about his business quietly and efficiently and emerged from the chasing park with just a few holes to go.

Dill lagged four shots off the pace at the start of the round, but stunned overnight leaders, Jerry Steyn and Coert Groenewald, into joint second with a superb five-under-par 67 to claim his maiden victory on the country’s premier development Tour with a winning total of five-under-par 211.

A member of the victorious Central Gauteng team at the recent South African Inter-Provincial in Cape Town, Dill finished in the top five on the most valued players’ list, having secured seven and a half points for his team.

The 25-year-old from Royal Johannesburg and Kensington attributed his new-found confident to the victory in Cape Town and renowned sport psychologist, Maretha Claasens.

“I learned a lot from watching how the guys dealt with the pressure at the SA IPT,” he said.

“Maretha gave me some tools and I used all of them in the final round. I haven’t been in this situation often, but I never felt any pressure and I didn’t get stressed out, as usual.

“I just felt really calm and in control. It’s really amazing what a difference experience makes and how it can change your approach.”

Although Dill’s round began the same way it did in the previous two rounds, the bogey at the first would also be the last blemish on his card.

“I think that hole has my number,” he laughed. “In the trees, again. I punched out and took my hiding. To be honest, I expected to start like that, but it picked up from there.

“After five pars, I kicked up the momentum when I knocked in a 14-footer at the par five (seventh) and that really got my round going.”

Dill sunk a 10-footer for birdie at the eighth and made a solid par at ninth to turn in one under.

“At the seventh hole, I was seven behind, but by the 10th, I was only four shots back and I knew I needed to go at least three under on the back nine to give myself a chance,” he said

With a goal in mind, Dill birdied 10, 12 and 14 to get to four under.

“I realised I had a nice little pattern going and told myself that a birdie at the 16th should do the trick,” he said. “I hit an eight-iron to just short of the green, but it up rolled up to 10 feet and I made the putt for birdie.

“Coert had a bogey just before I had to putt, so I gained a two shot swing. I played for par over the last two holes and put the pressure on Coert and Jerry to catch me.”

Meanwhile Steyn and Groenewald closed with 72s to tie for second. Duane Keun and Herman

Minnie both carded 70s and amateur Jason Ackerman registered a 72 to tie for for fourth on 218.

The third IGT Tour Race to Q-School event will be played at Ruimsig Country Club from 20-22 October.


211 – Andi Dill (AMA) 73 71 67

212 – Coert Groenewald 69 71 72, Jerry Steyn 71 69 72

218 – Duane Keun 70 78 70, Herman Minnie 76 72 70, Jason Ackerman (AMA) 74 72 72

219 – Matthew Spacey (AMA) 79 70 70, Jason Diab (AMA) 75 74 70, Bryn Flanagan (AMA) 67 77 75

220 – Werner Van Niekerk 73 73 74

221 – John McClean NIR 70 79 72

222 – Christiaan Pretorius 72 76 74, Armandt Scholtz (AMA) 76 70 76

223 – Marius Meyer (AMA) 73 76 74

224 – Philip Geerts ITA (AMA) 77 75 72

225 – James Searson 73 78 74, Calvin Caldeira (AMA) 78 73 74

226 – Russel Franz 72 75 79

227 – Rosswell Sinclair (AMA) 73 76 78

228 – Stephan De Beer 75 81 72

229 – Mark Fairbank (AMA) 80 72 77, Hein Barnard (AMA) 80 74 75, Simon Kruger (AMA) 75 75 79, Johannes Frahs AUT (AMA) 76 79 74

230 – Alwyn Vorster 78 78 74

231 – David Lamprecht 78 74 79

233 – Pieter Van der Linde (AMA) 76 79 78

235 – Daniel Joubert (AMA) 75 75 85, Wesley Horngren 77 73 85, Stephan Erasmus (AMA) 83 75 77

236 – Shaun van Tonder 79 77 80

237 – David Rebelo (AMA) 77 82 78

238 – Andre Pistorius 78 78 82

239 – Gareth Akers (AMA) 76 82 81, Tiaan Swart (AMA) 83 77 79

240 – Justin Levy FRA 82 80 78, Arno Bartholoma GER (AMA) 83 80 77

241 – Houston Harwood (AMA) 79 78 84

243 – Werner Lourens (AMA) 81 82 80, Dylan Raubenheimer (AMA) 87 82 74

245 – Etzard Grimbeek (AMA) 75 83 87

246 – Jean-Francois Erasmus (AMA) 83 77 86


Graham J Gordon, The Editor and Owner, GolfblogspotUK

The GolfblogspotUK website is owned and run by former Walker Cup player and European Tour card holder, Graham J Gordon, from Scotland, the Home of Golf. The owner is a golf fanatic who had to retire early from competitive tour play due to a back injury that required surgery. Graham wishes to share his knowledge and own experiences of the game with the GolfblogspotUK community and to receive your feedback on all aspects of the sport. Graham has been playing the game for over 20 years and received a great deal of pleasure from the sport. He has met several friends and visited many different places around the world, thanks to playing the great game of golf. Time to put a little back into the game to help others.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>