Gary King shot a six-under-par 64 to lead by one stroke after the first round of the PGA EuroPro Tour The Simpson & Marwick Championship event at Royal Burgess Golfing Society of Edinburgh on Wednesday.

GB&I amateur golf international and ex NCAA Collegiate golfer James Ross of Royal Burgess, is one of three golfers who will be chasing leader King by one shot. The 2013 Scottish Amateur Golfer of the Year carded -5, 65s on the opening day’s play, which included eight birdies. Ross, who is playing in his first PGA Europro tour professional golf event but remaining an amateur golfer. Therefore, he cannot earn any golf prize money.

English pair Jack Colegate of Deanridge Golf Club and James Watts from Kingsway Golf Centre, lie tied second with the Scottish amateur golfer.

King from Tyrrells Wood, made seven birdies in his first round. A bogey at the fourth hole was his only dropped shot as he moved to the top of the leaderboard in the event, which carries a £40,000 prize fund and £10,000 first prize.

The 54-hole event concludes on Friday, when the final round will be filmed for a two-hour highlights package to be aired on Sky Sports on Tuesday, July 29. Spectator entry is free throughout the event and live scoring can be found at

PGA EuroPro Tour The Simpson & Marwick Championship 1st Round Leaderboard (Par 70):-

64 G King (Eng)
65 J Watts (Eng), J Ross (Royal Burgess) (am), J Watt (Eng)

Other Selected Scottish Golf Scores:-

67 G McBain (Paul Lawrie GC), N Fenwick (Dunbar)
68 M Hillson (Tandridge)
69 C Currie (Caldwell), J Findlay (Paul Lawrie GC), K Nicol (Paul Lawrie GC)
70 M Isaacs (Newmachar), R Cameron (Saltire Energy)
71 S Binning (Ranfurly Castle), P Robinson (Largs), J Cliff  (Murrayfield)
72 J Dick (Duddingston), A Oldcorn (Kingsacre), R Kellett (Kingsfield), P Shields (Kirkhill), L Saltman (Archerfield), C Lawrie (Paul Lawrie GC), R Dixon (Renaissance), C O’Neil (Mearns Castle), C Trahan (Gleneagles)
73 P Doherty (Vale Hotel), E Ramsay (Carnoustie), S Crichton (Aberdour), E Saltman (Archerfield)
74 J Yuille (am)
75 N Henderson (Renaissance), C Dick (Royal Burgess), G Rankin (Drumpellier)
77 J Hendrick (Pollok), M Patterson (Kilmacolm), J McDoll (Scotscraig)
78 Z Saltman (Archerfield)
79 C Smith (Royal Musselburgh), F McKenna (Balmore) 

Source: PGA Europro Tour


Graham J Gordon, The Editor and Owner, GolfblogspotUK

The GolfblogspotUK website is owned and run by former Walker Cup player and European Tour card holder, Graham J Gordon, from Scotland, the Home of Golf. The owner is a golf fanatic who had to retire early from competitive tour play due to a back injury that required surgery. Graham wishes to share his knowledge and own experiences of the game with the GolfblogspotUK community and to receive your feedback on all aspects of the sport. Graham has been playing the game for over 20 years and received a great deal of pleasure from the sport. He has met several friends and visited many different places around the world, thanks to playing the great game of golf. Time to put a little back into the game to help others.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>