Former World Golf number one Rory McIlroy of Northern Ireland came from seven strokes adrift to surge through the field and claim a remarkable victory in the 2014 BMW PGA Championship at The Wentworth Club, London.

rory mcilroy The Irish golfer fired a final round of six-under-par, 66, to win The European Tour‘s flagship event for the first time following an exciting final day.

McIlroy, moved into the outright lead for the first time with a birdie four on the par-5 71st hole and made another sub-par figure at the last to finish on 14 under par, 274.

The new champion finished one shot in front of Ireland’s Shane Lowry, with two-time winner Luke Donald of England and overnight leader Thomas Björn of Denmark a shot further behind in third.

This was the first European Tour victory for McIlroy in 18 months after carding rounds of 68, 71, 69 and 66.

Lowry, started the inward half three shots clear after a hat-trick of birdies, but drove into trouble on the 13th hole and carded a double-bogey six.

Björn began the day five shots ahead of playing partner Donald but both players ran up triple bogeys on the sixth hole to throw the tournament wide open. The Dane needed two attempts to get out of a fairway bunker and then finding more sand with his fourth shot.

Donald responded with five birdies in his next ten holes – chipping in on the 13th and 16th holes. In the final analysis, Donald failed to birdie the par-5 17th hole which meant he needed an eagle three on the last hole to tie.

43 year old Björn also needed to record a three on the 18th hole after birdies on the 16th and 17th, but after Donald had found the water with his approach, the Dane’s third shot finished well short of the flagstick to confirm McIlroy’s triumph.

Final Golf Scoreboard (par-72):-

1 MCILROY Rory NIR -14 68 71 69 66 274 €791,660
2 LOWRY Shane IRL-13 64 70 73 68 275 €527,770
3 BJÖRN Thomas DEN -12 62 72 67 75 276 €267,425
3 DONALD Luke ENG -12 71 67 68 70 276 €267,425
5 DYSON Simon ENG -9 69 74 69 67 279 €183,825
5 GALLACHER Stephen SCO -9 70 75 68 66 279 €183,825
7 AIKEN Thomas RSA -8 68 72 70 70 280 €110,010
7 LARRAZÁBAL Pablo ESP-8 69 71 69 71 280 €110,010
7 MOLINARI Francesco ITA -8 71 74 65 70 280 €110,010
7 SIEM Marcel GER -8 69 71 72 68 280 €110,010
7 STENSON Henrik SWE-8 68 71 71 70 280 €110,010

Source: European Tour


Graham J Gordon, The Editor and Owner, GolfblogspotUK

The GolfblogspotUK website is owned and run by former Walker Cup player and European Tour card holder, Graham J Gordon, from Scotland, the Home of Golf. The owner is a golf fanatic who had to retire early from competitive tour play due to a back injury that required surgery. Graham wishes to share his knowledge and own experiences of the game with the GolfblogspotUK community and to receive your feedback on all aspects of the sport. Graham has been playing the game for over 20 years and received a great deal of pleasure from the sport. He has met several friends and visited many different places around the world, thanks to playing the great game of golf. Time to put a little back into the game to help others.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>