Former Walker Cup player Stiggy Hodgson won his first PGA EuroPro Tour title with a play-off victory over Elliot Saltman of Scotland and compatriot Luke Joy at the Championship 2014.

Hodgson, carded a final-round 63 (-8) to surge through the field at Cumberwell Park and finish the tournament on 13 under par, after starting the day six shots behind the leader, Joy (Broadstone Golf Club).

The Sunningdale Golf Club stalwart fired eight birdies in an unblemished final round to tie with Joy and Scotsman Saltman (Archerfield Links Golf Club).

Joy had led by two after 36 holes but a mixed final 18 saw him card a 69 for two under, while Saltman was six under for the day to reach thirteen under for the tournament.

The play-off took place on the 18th hole. Saltman found the trees lining the right side of the fairway and was forced to play back out to the fairway and took five strokes to finish the par-four hole. Joy’s tee shot landed left of the fairway and he was unlucky when a fine approach bounced off the green, leaving him two putts for par.

Hodgson (The Wisley Golf Club), however, took driver from the tee and cracked it straight down the middle. His wedge shot in landed just two foot from the pin and when he tapped it home for victory was clearly delighted to have held his nerve.

Luke Jackson took fourth on twelve under, just one stroke short of joining the play-off while Scotland’s Paul Shields was one further back on 11 under. Both had carded six-under 65s for their final round.

The final round was filmed for a two-hour highlights programme to be aired on Sky Sports HD on Tuesday, July 1 with repeats the following day. The PGA EuroPro Tour continues next week with the Buildbase Open at Frilford Heath Golf Club in Abingdon, Oxfordshire.

Leading Final Golf Scores (par-71):-

200 Stiggy Hodgson (The Wisley) 71 66 63 (£10,000), Elliot Saltman (Archerfield Links) 66 69 65 £3,750, Luke Joy (Broadstone) 63 68 69 £3,750

Other Scottish Golf Scores:-

202 Paul Shields (Kirkhill) 68 69 65
206 Zack Saltman (Archerfield Links) 67 68 71, Ross Cameron (Saltire Energy) 69 66 71
207 Sam Binning (Ranfurly Castle) 71 65 71
212 Kris Nicol (Paul Lawrie Golf Centre) 66 73 73
219 Conor O’Neil (Pollok) 66 74 69


Graham J Gordon, The Editor and Owner, GolfblogspotUK

The GolfblogspotUK website is owned and run by former Walker Cup player and European Tour card holder, Graham J Gordon, from Scotland, the Home of Golf. The owner is a golf fanatic who had to retire early from competitive tour play due to a back injury that required surgery. Graham wishes to share his knowledge and own experiences of the game with the GolfblogspotUK community and to receive your feedback on all aspects of the sport. Graham has been playing the game for over 20 years and received a great deal of pleasure from the sport. He has met several friends and visited many different places around the world, thanks to playing the great game of golf. Time to put a little back into the game to help others.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>