Defending champion Phil Mickelson got off to a less-than-ideal start, posting a 2-over 74. He has been able to open an Open Championship with a round in the 60s on just three occasions (21 starts).

Mickelson is making his 88th start in a Major Championship this week, with just nine missed cuts. Since 2000, he has four only missed cuts in majors (2007 U.S. Open, 2007 & 2012 Open Championship, 2014 Masters).

Mickelson comes into the week remaining in search of his season’s first top 10. He has never previously made it in a season to The Open Championship with fewer than three top-10 finishes already under his belt. Of the 18 years in which he has played The Open Championship as a professional, he has averaged nearly six top-10 finishes a year before the third major of the season.

Mickelson is seeking to become the seventh player with consecutive Open Championship victories since 1951: Padraig Harrington (2007-08), Tiger Woods (2005-06), Tom Watson (1982-83), Lee Trevino (1971-72), Arnold Palmer (1961-62) and Peter Thomson (1954-56). Sixteen players have performed the feat throughout Open history.


Graham J Gordon, The Editor and Owner, GolfblogspotUK

The GolfblogspotUK website is owned and run by former Walker Cup player and European Tour card holder, Graham J Gordon, from Scotland, the Home of Golf. The owner is a golf fanatic who had to retire early from competitive tour play due to a back injury that required surgery. Graham wishes to share his knowledge and own experiences of the game with the GolfblogspotUK community and to receive your feedback on all aspects of the sport. Graham has been playing the game for over 20 years and received a great deal of pleasure from the sport. He has met several friends and visited many different places around the world, thanks to playing the great game of golf. Time to put a little back into the game to help others.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>