Defending champion Gertie McMullen has made the best possible start to claiming back-to-back victories at the Irish Senior Women’s Open Strokeplay following an opening one over par 74 at Dundalk, Wednesday 10 September.

McMullen’s steady round saw her notch one birdie and two bogeys to tie the lead with The Heath’s Catherine Reilly who herself followed two opening birdies with a level par back nine.

Local favourite Ita Donnelly punched well above her weight to lie joint third overnight. The seven handicapper blitzed the international field with an impressive 75, matched only by 2011 and 2012 champion Minna Kaarnalahti from Finland. Sheena McElroy (Grange) lies one stroke behind on 76 with Irish international Suzanne Corcoran (Portumna) lurking menacingly on 77, alongside Niamh Giblin (Dun Laoghaire), Mary Dowling (Mallow) and Gabi Heuchel (ENG).

With seven players within three shots of the lead, tomorrow should prove a competitive affair indeed. Competitors play a further 36 holes over Thursday and Friday with the Champion being crowned around 3pm that afternoon.

Ireland A leads the Nations Cup followed by Ireland B, Canada and the USA.

With complimentary entry for spectators, visitors to Dundalk are most welcome.


74 Gertie McMullen (The Island) Catherine Reilly (The Heath)
75 Ita Donnelly (Dundalk) Minna Kaarnalahti (FIN)
76 Sheena McElroy (Grange)
77 Gabi Heuchel (ENG) Niamh Giblin (Dun Laoghaire) Suzanne Corcoran (Portumna) Mary Dowling (Mallow)
78 Alison Murdoch (CAN)
80 Helen Jones (Royal Portrush) Ruth Maguire (Corrstown) Pat Doran (Donabate) Mary MacLaren (Royal Portrush)
82 Georgia McCravey (USA) Nancy Beck (USA) Kate Evans (RCD Ladies)
83 Gill Rouiller (Mannan Castle) Pauline Walsh (Headfort) Kay McCartan (Greenore) Anne Ferguson (Ogbourne Downs) Diane Williams (CAN) Becky Neal (USA)
84 Evelyn Blackmon (USA) Marilyn Henderson (Royal Belfast)
85 Paula Murray (Naas)
86 Vivienne Houston (City of Derry) Mary McGoey (Greenore) Leslie Olive Henry (USA)
87 Joan Curran (Laytown & Bettystown) Manja Reef (NED) Wanda Mochtar (NED) Iet Hagels (NED)
88 Valerie Hassett (Ennis) Mary Feenan (CAN)
89 Valerie Shannon (Lahinch) Judy Collins (CAN) Grainne O’Connor (Skerries)
90 Linda Evers (USA)
91 Ada Vrolijk (NED) Ann McAuley (Laytown & Bettystown)
93 Pamela Williamson (SCO) Elizabeth Neville (Bearna)
94 Patricia Black (Headfort) Helen Thornton (Ardee)
98 Nancy Jackson (USA)

NATION CUP 92 scores from 3 to count each round)

150 IRELAND A Pat Doran [80] Sheena McElroy 76 Gertie McMullen 74

154 IRELAND B Suzanne Corcoran 77 Mary Dowling 7  Helen Jones [80]

161 CANADA A Alison Murdoch 78 Diane Williams 83

165 USA A Nancy Beck 82 Leslie Olive Henry [86] Becky Neal 83

166 USA B Evelyn Blackmon 84 Linda Evers [90] Georgia McCravey 82

174 NETHERLANDS A Iet Hagels 87 Wanda Mochtar 87

177 CANADA B Judy Collins 89 Mary Feenan 88

178 NETHERLANDS B Manja Reef 87 Ada Vrolijk 91


08:40 Grainne O’Connor (Skerries) Mary McGoey (Greenore)
08:50 Kay McCartan (Greenore) Ita Donnelly (Dundalk)
09:00 Georgia McCravey (USA) Marilyn Henderson (Royal Belfast) Ruth Maguire (Corrstown)
09:10 Iet Hagels (NED) Mary Feenan (CAN) Valerie Hassett (Ennis)
09:20 Evelyn Blackmon (USA) Judy Collins (CAN) Helen Jones (Royal Portrush)
09:30 Gabi Heuchel (ENG) Manja Reef (NED) Gill Rouiller (Mannan Castle)
09:40 Wanda Mochtar (NED) Vivienne Houston (City of Derry) Ada Vrolijk (NED)
09:50 Elizabeth Neville (Bearna) Helen Thornton (Ardee) Patricia Black (Headfort)
10:10 Joan Curran (Laytown & Bettystown) Paula Murray (Naas) Linda Evers (USA)
10:20 Pamela Williamson (SCO) Anne Ferguson (Ogbourne Downs) Niamh Giblin (Dun Laoghaire)
10:30 Ann McAuley (Laytown & Bettystown) Mary Dowling (Mallow) Nancy Jackson (USA)
10:40 Suzanne Corcoran (Portumna) Nancy Beck (USA) Minna Kaarnalahti (FIN)
10:50 Becky Neal (USA) Sheena McElroy (Grange) Alison Murdoch (CAN)
11:00 Kate Evans (RCD Ladies) Pat Doran (Donabate) Pauline Walsh (Headfort)
11:10 Mary MacLaren (Royal Portrush) Diane Williams (CAN) Valerie Shannon (Lahinch)
11:20 Gertie McMullen (The Island) Leslie Olive Henry (USA) Catherine Reilly (The Heath)


Graham J Gordon, The Editor and Owner, GolfblogspotUK

The GolfblogspotUK website is owned and run by former Walker Cup player and European Tour card holder, Graham J Gordon, from Scotland, the Home of Golf. The owner is a golf fanatic who had to retire early from competitive tour play due to a back injury that required surgery. Graham wishes to share his knowledge and own experiences of the game with the GolfblogspotUK community and to receive your feedback on all aspects of the sport. Graham has been playing the game for over 20 years and received a great deal of pleasure from the sport. He has met several friends and visited many different places around the world, thanks to playing the great game of golf. Time to put a little back into the game to help others.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>