David Lipsky (pictured by Getty Images) earned his first European Tour win by beating Graeme Storm in the first hole of a play-off at the Omega European Masters.

Playing the last again, the 26 year old from Los Angeles stayed safe for a par four while overnight leader Storm was unable to recover from a wayward tee shot that missed the fairway and came to rest against a wall.

Storm, 36, whose sole European Tour triumph was in 2007 at Open de France ALSTOM, had no option but to chip out on to the fairway.

However, Lipsky, who had just 86 yards to the hole with his second shot, took no risks by laying up short of the green.

His decision proved justified when he chipped close to the pin and, after Storm had made a five, was left with a simple putt for victory on another stunning day at the scenic Crans-sur-Sierre Golf Club.

Englishman Storm, on 16 under overnight, had already overcome pressure by parring the last to stay level on 18 under with Lipsky, who went round in a five under 65.

Lipsky, playing in the penultimate group, birdied the 18th with an approach to within inches of the hole.

That left Storm, who aced the par three 11th on Saturday, needing a three for victory but he played safe to set up the play-off.

Storm and Lipsky completed their 72 regular holes one shot ahead Brooks Koepka, who was tied for the lead with Storm until a bogey on the 17th where his wayward approach plugged in a greenside bunker, and Tyrrell Hatton, the latter ending with a 65.

The round of the day was Danny Willett’s 63, which left him on 16 under alongside Tommy Fleetwood.

Remarkably, there was a second hole in one of the weekend at the 11th as France’s Romain Wattel found the hole. Storm had already won the prize of a BMW sports car but the manufacturer generously allowed Wattel to choose one of its cars from the tented village at the course to drive for a year.

Wattel, who went round in 65 to finish 13 under, said: “I saw the crowd were celebrating but I didn’t know if that was because it was close, or in the hole. Then I realised, but I didn’t know if there was a prize.

“Unfortunately it was one day too late! But I’m obviously still really pleased with it, and with my performance today.

“I played very well over the weekend; it was just a shame I took too long to get started on the first two days. But I’m still delighted.”

Lipsky nearly outdid Wattel at the 331 yard par four seventh but his three-wood from the tee came up just short of the pin.

With this win David Lipsky

• Registers his first European Tour International Schedule victory in his 18th European Tour event.

• Moves to €428,498 in The Race to Dubai.

• Moves to just inside the top 150 in the Official World Golf Ranking from 369th.

• Beats his previous best European Tour finish of tied second at the 2014 Championship at Laguna National.

• Becomes the ninth first-time winner of the 2014 season. They are: Morten Ørum Madsen (South African Open Championship hosted by the City of Ekurhuleni), George Coetzee (Joburg Open), Jason Day (WGC – Accenture Match Play Championship), Patrick Reed (WGC – Cadillac Championship), Marco Crespi (NH Collection Open), Alexander Levy (Volvo China Open), Daniel Brooks (Madeira Islands Open – Portugal – BPI), Fabrizio Zanotti (BMW International Open) and David Lipsky (Omega European Masters).

• Becomes the first Affiliate Member to win on The European Tour since Tom Lewis at the 2011 Portugal Masters.

• Becomes the first Asian Tour member to win the Omega European Masters since this event became part of their Tour in 2008

• Victory comes in his third appearance in the Omega European Masters.

• This victory beats his previous best finish in the event of tied 59th in 2012.

• Began the final day there shots behind. Is the 21st winner this season to win after making up a final round deficit.

• Joins Hugh Baiocchi (1973), Nick Price (1980), Ian Woosnam (1982), Jerry Anderson (1984), Craig Stadler (1985), José Maria Olazábal (1986), Anders Forsbrand (1987), Chris Moody (1988), Jeff Hawkes (1991), Jamie Spence (1992), Mathias Grönberg (1995), Ricardo Gonzalez (2001), Jeff-Lucquin (2008) and Alex Noren (2009), to make the Omega European Masters their first European Tour win.


• Becomes the first American to win the Omega European Masters since Craig Stadler (1985) and only second since the event became part of The European Tour in 1972.

• Becomes the 196th American victory in European Tour history.

• Becomes the 84th different American to win on The European Tour.

• Becomes the third American to win on The European Tour in 2014. They are: Patrick Reed (WGC – Cadillac Championship), Bubba Watson (Masters Tournament) and David Lipsky (Omega European Masters)

• Gains a European Tour exemption until the end of 2016.

• Gains his largest European Tour prize of €383,330.

• Gains a place in the 2015 Volvo Golf Champions.

Source: European Tour


Graham J Gordon, The Editor and Owner, GolfblogspotUK

The GolfblogspotUK website is owned and run by former Walker Cup player and European Tour card holder, Graham J Gordon, from Scotland, the Home of Golf. The owner is a golf fanatic who had to retire early from competitive tour play due to a back injury that required surgery. Graham wishes to share his knowledge and own experiences of the game with the GolfblogspotUK community and to receive your feedback on all aspects of the sport. Graham has been playing the game for over 20 years and received a great deal of pleasure from the sport. He has met several friends and visited many different places around the world, thanks to playing the great game of golf. Time to put a little back into the game to help others.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>