Former World Golf #1 Tiger Woods, is a three-time winner of the Open Championship (2000, 2005-06) and the American will make his 18th start (16 professional) at the event. His 2006 win came at Royal Liverpool (Hoylake)

In addition to his three Open Golf victories, Woods has amassed six other top-10 finishes in the Open Championship, including a tied third finish in 2012 and tied sixth placing in 2013.

Woods is seeking his 15th Major Championship victory in his 71st start (65 professional, 6 amateur) in a major.

The 2014 Open Championship will mark Woods19th major championship start since his last major win at the 2008 U.S. Open.

2006 Open Championship at Royal Liverpool

Following a second-round, 7-under 65, highlighted by an eagle-two at the 14th hole, Tiger Woods took a lead he would never relinquish. Weekend rounds of 71-67 resulted in a 2-stroke victory over Chris DiMarco at 18-under. The win was his third Open Championship title (2000, 2005), 11th major championship victory

Source: PGA TOUR


Graham J Gordon, The Editor and Owner, GolfblogspotUK

The GolfblogspotUK website is owned and run by former Walker Cup player and European Tour card holder, Graham J Gordon, from Scotland, the Home of Golf. The owner is a golf fanatic who had to retire early from competitive tour play due to a back injury that required surgery. Graham wishes to share his knowledge and own experiences of the game with the GolfblogspotUK community and to receive your feedback on all aspects of the sport. Graham has been playing the game for over 20 years and received a great deal of pleasure from the sport. He has met several friends and visited many different places around the world, thanks to playing the great game of golf. Time to put a little back into the game to help others.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>