Australian Spoons Stableford Greensomes

The 2014 Australian Spoons National Final were held at Craddockstown Golf Club on Monday 25th August.

Aisling O’Leary and Caitriona Hogan from Enniscorthy win the Australian Spoon final at Craddockstown.


39pts Aisling O’Leary (2) & Caitriona Hogan (10) (Enniscorthy) – winners
35pts Shirley Real (4) & Tineke Leonard (18) (Castletroy) – runners up (back 9)
35pts Orla O’Mahoney (8) & Clare Fitzell (11) (Woodbrook)
35pts Suzanne Corcoran (3) & Anne Fahey (14) (Portumna) – gross winners 28 pts (back 9)
34pts Kate O’Meara (12) & Siobhan Hunt (14) (Bearna)
34pts Aedin Murphy (1) & Anne Thronton (14) (Castle)
33pts Deirdre O’Mahony (8) & Deirdre O’Brien (11) (East Cork)
32pts Lorraine Abbott (23) & Margaret Collins (24) (Loughgall)
32pts Pamela Telford (2) & Yvonne Mitchell (7) (Castlerock) – gross runners up 28 pts (back 6)
32pts Trish Rowland (15) & Marian Bergin (25) (Roscrea)
32pts Amy Arthur (9) & Ann Moynihan (7) (Killarney)
32pts Violet McBride (5) & Ann Stewart (17) (Belvoir Park)
29pts Mary Kinsella (7) & Anne Wynne (11) (Tullamore)
27pts Rose Jackson (20) & Martina Mc Grath (19)(Donabate)
27pts Pat Groake (17) & Pauline Mullins (18) (Ballinasloe)
26pts Caoilainn Bushell (14) & Anne Casey (15) (Co. Longford)
26pts Bridie McCoskey (22) & Kathleen Doherty (26) (Kilrea)
21pts Catriona Fitzgerald (25) & Shelanne Purcell (32) (St. Anne’s)
19pts Valerie Graham (23) & Catherine O’Neill (21) (Kilkenny)

The Australian Spoons were presented to the Ladies Golf Union in 1969 by the Australian Ladies Golf Union to encourage support for the International Match Fund.

Clubs are invited to host an 18-hole Stableford Greensomes qualifying competition. The winning nett pair will qualify to play in their respective 2014 District final and the best gross pair from each club provided that at least 10 pairs have entered the competition at Club level will also qualify to play in their respective 2014 District final.

The two best nett and two best gross pairs from each District final qualified for the All-Ireland final.

Source: Sandra Barnett, Irish Ladies Golf Union


Graham J Gordon, The Editor and Owner, GolfblogspotUK

The GolfblogspotUK website is owned and run by former Walker Cup player and European Tour card holder, Graham J Gordon, from Scotland, the Home of Golf. The owner is a golf fanatic who had to retire early from competitive tour play due to a back injury that required surgery. Graham wishes to share his knowledge and own experiences of the game with the GolfblogspotUK community and to receive your feedback on all aspects of the sport. Graham has been playing the game for over 20 years and received a great deal of pleasure from the sport. He has met several friends and visited many different places around the world, thanks to playing the great game of golf. Time to put a little back into the game to help others.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>