A glance at the 2014 Barracuda Championship Field:- 

  • 15 major championship winners.
  • Five past champions of the Barracuda Championship: J.J. Henry (2012), Matt Bettencourt (2010), John Rollins (2009), Will MacKenzie (2006) and Chris Riley (2002).
  • Twenty-time PGA TOUR winner Davis Love III is poised to make his second career start at the Barracuda Championship. Love, who finished T32 last year, turned 50 on April 13.
  • Ireland’s Padraig Harrington, a three-time major champion, will make his third appearance at the Barracuda Championship (T19/2012, MC/2013).
  • Five-time PGA TOUR winner Nick Watney, a native of Fresno, Calif., is searching for his first top-10 finish since a runner-up at the 2013 BMW Championship. Watney is making his fifth start at the Barracuda Championship, with a T5 in 2006 his best finish to date. No. 124 in the FedExCup standings, Watney has played the last five TOUR Championships by Coca-Cola.
  • Former U.S. Open champion Geoff Ogilvy makes his first start at the Barracuda Championship since 2002.
  • Barracuda Championship Tournament Host Scott McCarron will be making his 12th start in the event, bringing with him three previous top-10 finishes (T2/2004, T10/2003 and T4/2000).
  • Notable sponsor exemptions include: In just six starts, Pepperdine University alum Jason Allred has collected a pair of top-15 finishes. To earn his first start of the season, Allred shot a 66 in the Monday Qualifying tournament at the Northern Trust Open. Taking advantage of opportunity, he followed with rounds of 73-64-67-68—272 (-12) to finish T3 at Riviera CC. Allred also finished T15 at this year’s Memorial Tournament.
  • Australia’s Oliver Goss, who turned professional after his sophomore year at the University of Tennessee, was the low amateur at the 2014 Masters Tournament.
  • Before making his professional debut at this year’s Travelers Championship, Patrick Rodgers was ranked at the world’s No. 1 amateur. The two-time all-American at Stanford University was the recipient of this year’s Ben Hogan Award, given annually to the top men’s player in college and amateur events. He was also the recipient of the Jack Nicklaus award as the nation’s top Division I golfer. Rodgers has made the cut in three of the four events in which he has started this year as a professional, with his best finish being the T46 at the Travelers Championship.
  • South Africa’s George Coetzee, a member of the European Tour, finished T9 earlier this year the World Golf Championships-Accenture Match Play Championship for his first-ever top 10 on the PGA TOUR.

Source: PGA Tour


Graham J Gordon, The Editor and Owner, GolfblogspotUK

The GolfblogspotUK website is owned and run by former Walker Cup player and European Tour card holder, Graham J Gordon, from Scotland, the Home of Golf. The owner is a golf fanatic who had to retire early from competitive tour play due to a back injury that required surgery. Graham wishes to share his knowledge and own experiences of the game with the GolfblogspotUK community and to receive your feedback on all aspects of the sport. Graham has been playing the game for over 20 years and received a great deal of pleasure from the sport. He has met several friends and visited many different places around the world, thanks to playing the great game of golf. Time to put a little back into the game to help others.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>