A glance at the 2014 Quicken Loans National Golf Field

• 11 of the top 30 in the FedExCup standings including No. 6 Jordan Spieth.
• Eight of the top 30 in the Official World Golf Ranking, including No. 4 ranked Tiger Woods.
• Six of the seven past champions of the Quicken Loans National: Bill Haas (2013), Tiger Woods
(2012 and 2009), Nick Watney (2011), Justin Rose (2010) and K.J. Choi (2007).

Notable players in the 2014 

• Tiger Woods returns from a 15-tournament layoff after undergoing microdiscectomy surgery for a
pinched nerve in his back on March 31. Woods, a two-time Quicken Loans National winner (2009,
2012) with 79 titles overall, continues his pursuit of Sam Snead’s TOUR record of 82 victories.
The two-time FedExCup champion (2007 and 2009) has eight weeks remaining to climb from No.
209 into the top 125 and qualify for the FedExCup Playoffs. • Ernie Els returns to the site of his 1997 U.S. Open win at Congressional Country Club. Els missed
the cut at the 2011 U.S. Open at Congressional and finished T7 at the 2005 Booz Allen Classic at
Congressional Country Club.
• Jordan Spieth, the top-ranked player in the FedExCup standings (No. 6) in the Quicken Loans
National field, will make his third start at the Quicken Loans National 2012/MC, 2013/6th
• Jason Day finished second at the 2011 U.S. Open at Congressional. He has four previous starts
in the Quicken Loans National: 2008/MC, 2009/MC, 2012/T8 and 2013/T21.
• Brendan Todd has been among the TOUR’s best players over the last five weeks. After winning
his first TOUR title at the HP Byron Nelson Championship, Todd finished T5 (Crowne Plaza
Invitational at Colonial) and T8 (the Memorial Tournament presented by Nationwide Insurance).
He was second to Martin Kaymer through 36 holes at the U.S. Open and finished T17 as one of
only three players (Kaymer and Keegan Bradley) to post three rounds in the 60s.
• Annapolis resident Billy Hurley III attended the U.S. Naval Academy and served as an officer in
the United States Navy after graduation (2004-09). Hurley III was also a lieutenant aboard a U.S.
Navy destroyer for part of 2010 in the Persian Gulf, helping protect Iraqi oil platforms.

2014 Quicken Loans National Field:-

Allenby, Robert

Appleby, Stuart

Atwal, Arjun

Austin, Woody

Baddeley, Aaron

Bae, Sang-Moon

Barnes, Ricky

Beljan, Charlie

Bohn, Jason

Bowditch, Steven

Bradley, Keegan

Brown, Scott

Byrd, Jonathan

Cabrera, Angel

Cantlay, Patrick

Castro, Roberto

Cauley, Bud

Chalmers, Greg

Chappell, Kevin

Choi, K.J.

Cink, Stewart

Collins, Chad

Compton, Erik

Curtis, Ben

Davis, Brian

Day, Jason

de Jonge, Brendon

Driscoll, James

Dufner, Jason

Els, Ernie

Ernst, Derek

Every, Matt

Flores, Martin

Frazar, Harrison

Garnett, Brice

Garrigus, Robert

Goosen, Retief

Goss, Oliver

Haas, Bill

Hadley, Chesson

Hahn, James

Hanson, Peter

Harman, Brian

Henley, Russell

Henry, J.J.

Hicks, Justin

Hoffman, Charley

Hoffmann, Morgan

Holmes, J.B.

Horschel, Billy

Howell III, Charles

Huh, John

Hurley III, Billy

Immelman, Trevor

Jacobson, Freddie

Kisner, Kevin

Knox, Russell

Laird, Martin

Lee, D.H.

Lee, Danny

Lee, Richard H.

Leishman, Marc

Levin, Spencer

Lingmerth, David

Loupe, Andrew

Love III, Davis

MacKenzie, Will

Mahan, Hunter

Martin, Ben

McGirt, William

McNeill, George

Merrick, John

Merritt, Troy

Molder, Bryce

Noh, Seung-Yul

O’Hair, Sean

Ogilvy, Geoff

Palmer, Ryan

Perez, Pat

Pettersson, Carl

Potter, Jr., Ted

Putnam, Michael

Reed, Patrick

Renner, Jim

Roach, Wes

Rodgers, Patrick

Rollins, John

Romero, Andres

Rose, Justin

Sabbatini, Rory

Simpson, Webb

Singh, Vijay

Slocum, Heath

Snedeker, Brandt

Spieth, Jordan

Stallings, Scott

Stanley, Kyle

Steele, Brendan

Stefani, Shawn

Streb, Robert

Summerhays, Daniel

Svoboda, Andrew

Teater, Josh

Thompson, Nicholas

Todd, Brendon

Tringale, Cameron

Van Aswegen, Tyrone

Van Pelt, Bo

Vegas, Jhonattan

Villegas, Camilo

Wagner, Johnson

Watney, Nick

Watt, Brady

Weir, Mike

Wi, Charlie

Wilkinson, Tim

Wilson, Mark

Woodland, Gary

Woods, Tiger

Yang, Y.E.


Swafford, Hudson

Gainey, Tommy

Wilcox, Will

Peterson, John

Malnati, Peter

Gore, Jason

Campbell, Chad

Matteson, Troy

Herman, Jim

Gardiner, Scott

Source: PGA Tour


Graham J Gordon, The Editor and Owner, GolfblogspotUK

The GolfblogspotUK website is owned and run by former Walker Cup player and European Tour card holder, Graham J Gordon, from Scotland, the Home of Golf. The owner is a golf fanatic who had to retire early from competitive tour play due to a back injury that required surgery. Graham wishes to share his knowledge and own experiences of the game with the GolfblogspotUK community and to receive your feedback on all aspects of the sport. Graham has been playing the game for over 20 years and received a great deal of pleasure from the sport. He has met several friends and visited many different places around the world, thanks to playing the great game of golf. Time to put a little back into the game to help others.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>