Barracuda Championship and the Modified Stableford scoring format

The Barracuda Championship changed its format from stroke play to Modified Stableford in 2012, a format not utilized on the PGA TOUR since The INTERNATIONAL ended after 2006. The Modified Stableford scoring system allocates points based on the number of strokes taken at each hole, with the goal of achieving the highest overall number of points. The tournament includes a traditional 36-hole cut of low 70 and ties. The following is a breakdown of how points are awarded in a Modified Stableford scoring system:

Score & Points

Double eagle +8 points

Eagle +5 points

Birdie +2 points

Par 0 points

Bogey -1 point

Double bogey or worse -3 points


Graham J Gordon, The Editor and Owner, GolfblogspotUK

The GolfblogspotUK website is owned and run by former Walker Cup player and European Tour card holder, Graham J Gordon, from Scotland, the Home of Golf. The owner is a golf fanatic who had to retire early from competitive tour play due to a back injury that required surgery. Graham wishes to share his knowledge and own experiences of the game with the GolfblogspotUK community and to receive your feedback on all aspects of the sport. Graham has been playing the game for over 20 years and received a great deal of pleasure from the sport. He has met several friends and visited many different places around the world, thanks to playing the great game of golf. Time to put a little back into the game to help others.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>